sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Moderator: Mattk

urosh
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:12 am

sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by urosh » Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:00 am

Hello.

Before I had this same weatherstation connected to a nslu2. As we has a storm and the nslu2 died, I bought the sheeva.
I installed everything and everything is working. Not really. Meteohub works as it should (maybe?) and it also found my station. The problem is, that it just randomly looses the connection to the sheeva, as I see that there in the sensor page it just says in last singal "never". But there was a signal - as I can see in the logs. It just happens randomly and I don't know where/what to look at. The station is at home and is working (was every time I checked - sensors are sending data to it) and nobody touched the station/sheeva. And in meteohub the sensors are just not shown anymore.

Did someone had something like this? Should I reimage everything and try again? I just don't understand this :s...

Boris, please help :)

I can give you the access to the box if needed.

Cheers, Uros.

urosh
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:12 am

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by urosh » Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:31 am

in the /data/log/meteohub.log I found this:
logger (17.09.2010 11:20:47): no signal from station 0 (WMR-928) for 150 seconds, station to be restarted.
logger (17.09.2010 11:20:47): disconnect station 0 (WMR-928).
logger (17.09.2010 11:21:17): connect station 0 (WMR-928 via USB serial).
logger (17.09.2010 11:23:48): no signal from station 0 (WMR-928) for 150 seconds, station to be restarted.
logger (17.09.2010 11:23:48): disconnect station 0 (WMR-928).
logger (17.09.2010 11:24:18): connect station 0 (WMR-928 via USB serial).
logger (17.09.2010 11:26:49): no signal from station 0 (WMR-928) for 150 seconds, station to be restarted.
logger (17.09.2010 11:26:49): disconnect station 0 (WMR-928).
logger (17.09.2010 11:27:19): connect station 0 (WMR-928 via USB serial).

and the data was:


I don't know what is going on here...

Lybbe
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by Lybbe » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:13 am

Same problem here using sheeva and WMR928.

This happens whenever i reboot my sheeva. What i have to do to fix this is to delete the weatherstation in meteoplug and add it again + sensors. Makes no sense to me, but it works.

If my sheeva dies of poweroutage it won't connect to the weatherstation until i get home and do the procedures above.

Boris, any idea what this is all about?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5225
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by admin » Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:26 pm

can you give me remote access on ports 22 and 7777?
please send login details to info(at)meteohub.de.

cheffy
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:10 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by cheffy » Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:28 pm

Did this problem ever get resolved because I have the same issue.

I am just got a meteo sheeva which had Meteohub pre-installed ready to go, however I am struggling to get it up and running.

I am following the set-up guidelines and I have managed to find the IP address and log into Meteohub. I have selected my weather station WMR-928, however I am having real trouble trying to connect to my sensors. Sometimes Meteohub does not pick them up or on the odd occasion it does find one it takes a long time to update or drops out (last signal never).

Does anybody have any ideas??

Thanks.

markhiseman
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:25 pm
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Contact:

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by markhiseman » Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:44 am

Could it be related to this?

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=6759

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5225
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by admin » Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:37 pm

yes, version 4.6v should have this fixed.

User avatar
Wessel
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 1:14 am

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by Wessel » Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:19 pm

I have almost the same problem with my Sheevaplug and WMR200. It was working fine during some days then the sensors started to loose signal in the Meteohub. Some times it takes 30 min, sometimes more to return the signal. In the display the sensor are working fine, only in Meteohub looses signal. I did the last uptade of meteohub.
Should I delete weather station e install it and all sensors again or replace USB cable? Or is ther another solution?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5225
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by admin » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:23 pm

I dont think it has something to do with the software.
Changing USB cable and console location to optimize RF range might be worth a try.

User avatar
Wessel
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 1:14 am

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by Wessel » Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:57 pm

I changed USB cable and console location and since last night seems to be working fine. Thanks.

User avatar
Wessel
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 1:14 am

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by Wessel » Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:19 pm

Boris, I changed the weather station and display's location to another place and I already bought 3 kinds of USB cable but the sensors doesn't work. Two days ago the weather station worked fine during one day, just some times it took 20, 30 minutes to send another signal, however yesterday stopped to work and today is the same.
All sensor are working in the display, I can add the weather station on meteohub but in the sensors page, in last signal, it's said "never". Is there a special kind of USB cable that would fix this problem or what can I do? I'm facing this problem since 6 month ago... :(

User avatar
Wessel
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 1:14 am

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by Wessel » Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:55 pm

Wessel wrote:Boris, I changed the weather station and display's location to another place and I already bought 3 kinds of USB cable but the sensors doesn't work. Two days ago the weather station worked fine during one day, just some times it took 20, 30 minutes to send another signal, however yesterday stopped to work and today is the same.
All sensor are working in the display, I can add the weather station on meteohub but in the sensors page, in last signal, it's said "never". Is there a special kind of USB cable that would fix this problem or what can I do? I'm facing this problem since 6 month ago... :(
The display and rain sensor are working fine, almost each minute the signal is updated. The wind sensor isn't working, no signal since 3 days ago. The temperature sensor works, but some times takes more then 30 min to update the signal. Remember, the display shows all sensors perfectly. Please, if someone can help me with this problem...

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5225
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by admin » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:42 am

can you please browse to "http://lan-ip-of-your-meteohub/cgi-bin/help.cgi"?
This should allow me to login and do some checks.

User avatar
Wessel
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 1:14 am

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by Wessel » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:22 pm

admin wrote:can you please browse to "http://lan-ip-of-your-meteohub/cgi-bin/help.cgi"?
This should allow me to login and do some checks.
Ok, it's done.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5225
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: sheevaplug & wmr928 - looses senzors :s

Post by admin » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:37 pm

I have access to a sheevaplug with a wmr-200 connected. Is that yours?
I see that outdoor sensors dropping off very often. As wmr-200 is known
to be not the best performer in RF reception, I would recommend to place
the sensors closer to the console and to put them into some height
(near the ground a lot of RF signal strength gets lost into ground).

As there are also lots of USB errors, changing USB cable path and using
a short, well shielded cable might also help.

I also increased timeout value for sensor age from 300 secs to 600 secs
(datahold value on weather station page) which should make it a bit more
tollerant when sending slightly aged data to weather networks.

All that are normal issues, when you are at limits with RF reception. sorry.

Post Reply