My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Meine Station

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
User avatar
StratoQ
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Kilkenny, Ireland
Contact:

My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Post by StratoQ » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:11 am

Hello

I have been running meteohub since Apr 2008 and it's been great. I have now got my weather website up. The live part of my site is fed by meteohub only.The website was created using a Joomla! template.


http://www.kilkennyweather.com/

Regards
Niall
http://www.kilkennyweather.com/

AAMFlyer
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Arvada, CO

Re:My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Post by AAMFlyer » Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:45 am

Nice Site - glad to see another Joomla User! Are you imbedding most of your weather stuff as html or using wrappers.... Mine is mix of both...

http://westwoodsweather.com/

Gregg

skyewright
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:27 pm
Location: Isle of Skye, Scotland

Re:My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Post by skyewright » Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:07 am

Hi,
Nice 'clean' easy to read site. :)
Do you get your 'grass' temp from an electonic sensor? If so would you be able to give a little more detail, e.g. type of sensor and how you site it?

User avatar
StratoQ
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Kilkenny, Ireland
Contact:

Re:My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Post by StratoQ » Sun Feb 01, 2009 1:52 am

Thanks for that, Gregg & Skyewright.

I note Gregg you had a -6 F a couple of days ago. The Davis most be pretty robust so for Colorado's winter. I think I read somewhere that my Oregon 928 though wasnt really suited for colder climates.

Skyewright the probe I use for ground temp is the Oregon THC238.

http://www.ukweathershop.co.uk/acatalog ... c_was.html

I use the full 3m extended to bring it away from the Stevenson Screen. The probe itself is attached by a hook wire to a stick embedded in the ground. (The probe tip is kept about 2 cm from the stick and at height just about equal to the grass tips).
I checked it against an alcohol min thermom and had to do some 'calibration' adjustment via meteohub. But now results are consistent.
http://www.kilkennyweather.com/

skyewright
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:27 pm
Location: Isle of Skye, Scotland

Re:My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Post by skyewright » Sun Feb 01, 2009 1:11 pm

StratoQ wrote:Skyewright the probe I use for ground temp is the Oregon THC238.
<SNIP>(The probe tip is kept about 2 cm from the stick and at height just about equal to the grass tips).
Thanks for the description.
I already have a THC238 as 100mm soil temp, and another as a 'temp in a jar' for daytime solar/nighttime cloud. With that 3m lead they are a very adaptable sensor. :)
It was interesting to hear how you have adapted it for grass temp.

User avatar
StratoQ
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: Kilkenny, Ireland
Contact:

Re: My station in Kilkenny, Ireland

Post by StratoQ » Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:49 am

I have installed the "Google translate" tool on my website. I can't really say it works 100% correctly - but maybe useful!

Ich habe installiert "Google Translate" auf meiner Webseite. Ich kann nicht sagen, es funktioniert 100% richtig!

J'ai installé "Google Translate" sur mon site. Je ne peux pas dire que cela fonctionne correctement à 100%!

www.kilkennyweather.com

mexuneli
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:48 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

#subject

Post by mexuneli » Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:59 pm

Hi, Nice 'clean' easy to read site. :) Do you get your 'grass' temp from an electonic sensor? If so would you be able to give a little more detail, e.g. type of sensor and how you site it?

+1

Post Reply