showing continuous rain!

Davis Vantage Pro2, Pro1 (not firmware A)

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:23 am

I have just noticed the Meteobridge is showing false rain readings. I have changed the Vantages battery and checked the transmitter board and all looks clean and water proof. It also shows rain when the collector is unplugged. Other readings are not quite right looking at them.
Meteobridge.PNG
Meteobridge.PNG (60.27 KiB) Viewed 2135 times
The meteobridge knows these readings are wrong!
From the system log:
logger (12.06.2018 08:53:33): suspicious and ignored rain counter reset (former value was 105) which might be caused by a power outage of the sensor.

The Davis base station says there has been no rain which is correct.

Before I look deeper into this has anyone got the same problem?

www.falmouthweather.com

supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:01 am

Further to this problem:
I have also got another Meteobridge running off the Davis receiver via the serial output. Look at the rain totals This does not show the continuous rain (neither does the (davis console) as shown below. First the Meteobridge via the Davis console...
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG (58.69 KiB) Viewed 2093 times
Then the Meteobridge Pro via it's own receiver:
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG (58.69 KiB) Viewed 2093 times
So it is the Meteobridge Pro that is showing a false reading!!!!
Attachments
Meteobridge Pro via its RX.PNG
Meteobridge Pro via its RX.PNG (58.43 KiB) Viewed 2093 times

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 526
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by Mattk » Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:43 am

What other superfluous 900mhz RF do you have floating around?

supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:57 am

That was something I was wondering, but the Meteobridge Pro is within a few feet of the Vantage (although below it ) and the Davis base station is probably 12 feet and a further wall away but that works OK. It was working OK untill recently then started recording continuous rain when the sun came up. It then stopped around midnight. Since then I have had a low battery alarm from the Davis console and changed the battery in the Vantage. Now the rain signal on the Meteobridge Pro is 24hrs. Therefore I do not think it is external RF but I will get the radio out and look....

supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:29 am

Found the answer! I had the main Davis Vantage Pro but also a Davis Vue. The Vue seems to have developed the fault somehow sending continuous rain signals that the Meteobridge Pro thought were coming from the Vantage. The odd thng is that the Davis Vantage base station was not upset by this signal. Once the Vue was turned off the Meteobridge Pro was workind OK and infact the signal improved which my not be a surprise. I will try the Vue again sometime and see if the fault returns. The humidity sensor on my early model wired Davis WMII is the next thing to mend!
www.falmouthweather.com the main displays ar efrom the WMII but the live graphs are the Vantage via the Meteobridge Pro.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 526
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by Mattk » Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:22 am

So what signal was the MBPro set to receive? Was both the Vue and VP2 console re-transmitting and if so what was the respective TX ID's relative to the ISS?

As for mending the WMII humidity, I hope to can "mend" as you won't be able to buy one.

Post Reply