showing continuous rain!

Davis Vantage Pro2, Pro1 (not firmware A)

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:23 am

I have just noticed the Meteobridge is showing false rain readings. I have changed the Vantages battery and checked the transmitter board and all looks clean and water proof. It also shows rain when the collector is unplugged. Other readings are not quite right looking at them.
Meteobridge.PNG
Meteobridge.PNG (60.27 KiB) Viewed 760 times
The meteobridge knows these readings are wrong!
From the system log:
logger (12.06.2018 08:53:33): suspicious and ignored rain counter reset (former value was 105) which might be caused by a power outage of the sensor.

The Davis base station says there has been no rain which is correct.

Before I look deeper into this has anyone got the same problem?

www.falmouthweather.com

supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:01 am

Further to this problem:
I have also got another Meteobridge running off the Davis receiver via the serial output. Look at the rain totals This does not show the continuous rain (neither does the (davis console) as shown below. First the Meteobridge via the Davis console...
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG (58.69 KiB) Viewed 718 times
Then the Meteobridge Pro via it's own receiver:
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG
Meteobridge via Davis console.PNG (58.69 KiB) Viewed 718 times
So it is the Meteobridge Pro that is showing a false reading!!!!
Attachments
Meteobridge Pro via its RX.PNG
Meteobridge Pro via its RX.PNG (58.43 KiB) Viewed 718 times

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by Mattk » Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:43 am

What other superfluous 900mhz RF do you have floating around?

supplyimaging
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 am

Re: showing continuous rain!

Post by supplyimaging » Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:57 am

That was something I was wondering, but the Meteobridge Pro is within a few feet of the Vantage (although below it ) and the Davis base station is probably 12 feet and a further wall away but that works OK. It was working OK untill recently then started recording continuous rain when the sun came up. It then stopped around midnight. Since then I have had a low battery alarm from the Davis console and changed the battery in the Vantage. Now the rain signal on the Meteobridge Pro is 24hrs. Therefore I do not think it is external RF but I will get the radio out and look....

Post Reply