Wind direction/speed

WH-1080 weather station is also known as Watson W-8681, WX-2008, National Geographic 265 NE, Elecsa 6975 and 6976.

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
sprockett
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:45 pm

Wind direction/speed

Post by sprockett » Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:21 am

I've just finished installing meteohub(trial) and connected my WH-1080.
The touch screen is displaying correctly as is easy weather, but on the meteohub the wind speed is showing only 1.2 m/s when the LCD shows 2.4.
also the changes in direction/speed take a long time to update. I'm also using WDL(trial) and it is just as slow and half the actual wind speed.
any suggestions?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:05 am

WH-1080 reports average wind speed and gust wind speed. I guess the display can be change to one of both modes as well.

WD live gets feeded with average wind speed as reported by your station.

When doing graphs in Meteohub you can decide whether to make use of wind or gust speeds.

Dashboard shows both speeds.

"Sensors" page in Meteohub also displays both speeds.

sprockett
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:45 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by sprockett » Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:13 pm

I am starting to get frustrated.
I have the weather station in front of a fan in my office, so I can control the wind speed and direction. when I start the metrohub and it starts logging it shows the true direction. if I move the fan to change wind direction the metro hub does not update (even pressing the sensor page refresh button many times over many minutes)
If I press the 'Aggregated Weather Data recompile' button, after it goes through the 'weather data recomputation' in the system info page, it sometimes shows the correct wind speed and direction (and temp,humidity...)and then dosent change again (but the weather station lcd display does). When i use the windows software that came with the 1080 it works no problems.

Any ideas on what i am doing wrong?

sprockett
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:45 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by sprockett » Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:13 pm

Another case of opening my mouth too fast.
It appears its just taking a very long time to update.
How long should it take to update sensor data in meteohub?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:36 pm

Data is requested from the WH-1080 at least once a minute, but I don't know how often this gets updated internally from the WH-1080.

sprockett
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:45 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by sprockett » Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:44 am

Its being updated in the metrohub every 18-28 minutes.
Maybe i should do a fresh install, and see if thats the problem.

maximus
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:22 am

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by maximus » Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:53 am

I am having a simular issue with the wind sensor. Did you ever get it to report correctly?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:34 pm

I did a change of a part of the wh1080 code. As I don't have a wh1080 for testing around here at the moment, please grab an update from here:
http://www.meteohub.de/wh1080new.upd

Please tell me if that cures the delay.

you can go back to former status with this update:
http://www.meteohub.de/wh1080orig.upd

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:54 pm

does the update in the post above solve the problem?

maximus
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:22 am

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by maximus » Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:35 pm

It appers to be updating a little faster. It also looks like it is updating wunderground faster as well.

I'll keep an eye on it for a few more days.

I have it setup to administer from the internet, I would be more than happy to give you access to view it to test your wh-1080 fixes.

maximus
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:22 am

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by maximus » Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:37 pm

It looks like it updates every 60 seconds

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:26 am

unless you report trouble with the attached fix, I will include it into next Meteohub update, 2.8b.

majland
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:21 am
Location: N56 34.193 E9 32.550

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by majland » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:02 pm

I've read the thread and also have the wind speed off.

I've double checked that the touch display is showing in m/s (and not the gust)

The difference is the display showing 2.6 * meteohub dashboard

Seems to be updating fine trough

Before i just add a compensation of 2.6 i thought that i'd better ask here first. My weather station is brandet "Rosenborg 68700" but is otherwise equal to a 1080 (afaik)

Here are the logged values (Inspect values) that equal ~3.4 to ~5,1 on the touch screen

20090104145015 wind0 45 21 13 -048
20090104145057 wind0 90 18 14 -044
20090104145154 wind0 90 18 13 -044
20090104145236 wind0 45 22 14 -049
20090104145304 wind0 45 22 14 -049
20090104145332 wind0 45 29 19 -057
20090104145415 wind0 45 29 19 -057
20090104145457 wind0 90 26 21 -054
20090104145553 wind0 90 23 17 -052

Under sensors it looks like
2.3(1.4)m/s NE where the 2.3 is what the dashboard shows as a Gust wind.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:04 pm

According WH-1080 specs the station reports a native wind speed value via USB that has to be corrected by a factor that matches more or less the inverse of the 2.6 you found out. So my guess is, that your station might be a modified model that reports wind values 1:1 in m/s via usb.

If so, simply apply the factor you have calculated to wind speed and wind gust. That should do the trick. I am still not completely convinced that they distribute stations with different firmware, but I don't have another explanation for this (apart from the specs the manufacturer has given to me being wrong).

Any other WH-1080 users that have a wind reading by factor 2.6 too low (compared to console display)?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re:Wind direction/speed

Post by admin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:49 pm

I did a bit www research and found sources of other programs that read WH-1080 data. Interesting thing is, that these programs do not apply the "correction factor" given by the manufacturer to me. I start believing the documentation is wrong in that respect. Other factors (rain for example) look ok and are also applied by other programs I could inspect.

Next update, 3.3b will have the obviously wrong wind correction factor removed. Then Meteohub delivers the same values as the other open source programs around there.

Thanks for pointing on this... and remind to never trust a manufacturer documentation ;-)

Post Reply