Alternatives to USB thumb drives?

Moderator: Mattk

rainman110
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder

Alternatives to USB thumb drives?

Post by rainman110 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:33 pm

I've been running a couple of NSLU2 units for a couple of years now, and it seems that even the best USB sticks will eventually wear out and start getting errors after a year or so, which then requires a rebuild with a new stick. Are there any alternatives to USB sticks that work with the NSLU2 that are more durable? Anyone tried using anything else?

dabird22
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder

Re: Alternatives to USB thumb drives?

Post by dabird22 » Tue Nov 23, 2010 10:10 pm

I am wondering the same thing. Can you use a small usb hard drive? I am trying a 40 GB external usb hard drive with the NSLU2. Everything seems to be working except reading data from the Vantage Pro 2 Weather Station.

(edit) Works now.. needed an update to meteohub to fix a bug.
Last edited by dabird22 on Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Taz
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder

Post by Taz » Sat Dec 11, 2010 7:27 pm

A really interesting question. I´ve been wondering the same thing. Have been looking for differences between a USB stick and a memory card. Sad to say, I think we with the NSLU meteohub systems are a minority :shock: so I have not figured out wherever I can put a SDHC in a USB card reader adapter. That solution would be great if it worked.

Or maybe a SSD disk could work? No moving parts, shock resistant and a MTBF of 1 000 000 hours. Manufacturers warranty of at least 36 months (in case the memory capsules becomes bad ). Low on power consumption. A nice little interface between the NSLU and the disk is what is needed.

Anyone with experience of alternatives of a USB stick? Please share your solutions and thoughts!

dabird22
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder

Post by dabird22 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

FYI for other users wondering the same thing...