Replace SD-Card with new one - Reactivation needed?

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
MeteoSheeva
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: Germany

Replace SD-Card with new one - Reactivation needed?

Post by MeteoSheeva » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:30 pm

Hello there,

I am planning to replace my probably non-SLC-Card (Transcend 8GB Extreme-Speed SDHC TS8GBSDHC10) with an SLC-card (integral Endurance 8GB SDHC INSDH8G10-ENDU).
So my plan is to mirror the content of the old card to the new card by using GParted.

Is there a kind of reactivation needed after that? If so how do I do that?

Kind regards
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you can not confirm their validity"
                                                                                     - Abraham Lincoln

wfpost
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: HONSOLGEN
Contact:

Re: Replace SD-Card with new one - Reactivation needed?

Post by wfpost » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:01 pm

not sure if you need to renew activation with only a new disk installed,
but you can always create a new key with that online tool >>>>

http://wiki.meteohub.de/Transfer

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5246
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Replace SD-Card with new one - Reactivation needed?

Post by admin » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:28 pm

SD card change does also change system ID. Therefore you need to transfer activation code with the link given above. Make sure to pick the right scenario.

MeteoSheeva
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Replace SD-Card with new one - Reactivation needed?

Post by MeteoSheeva » Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:19 am

Thank you for your replies.

I will try it then and give some feedback :)
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you can not confirm their validity"
                                                                                     - Abraham Lincoln

MeteoSheeva
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Replace SD-Card with new one - Reactivation needed?

Post by MeteoSheeva » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:30 pm

I just mirrored the content from the old card to the new card and reactivated my Meteohub-installation.
It seems to be working fine.

Old:

Code: Select all

Medium:	00000 11/2010 0x7555f16e
Swap:	0MB von 131MB belegt (0%)
System:	653MB von 838MB belegt (78%)
Daten:	318MB von 6555MB belegt (4%)
New:

Code: Select all

Medium:	SD08G 03/2010 0xc70bed17
Swap:	0MB von 131MB belegt (0%)
System:	653MB von 839MB belegt (77%)
Daten:	317MB von 6781MB belegt (4%)
@Boris
With one of the last updates you added the information about the SD-Card (Medium:).
Can you perhaps explain what is the meaning of these three values?
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you can not confirm their validity"
                                                                                     - Abraham Lincoln

Post Reply