Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

joe002
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:57 am

Re: Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

Post by joe002 » Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:41 am

Boris - Hi, any updates? It looks like we're in our last month. Thanks.

bubba123
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:47 am

Re: Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

Post by bubba123 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:09 am

I’m planning on unboxing my Access this weekend and deploy Acuparse on an extra Rpi. I’d like to stay with Meteobridge as it gives me more options, but using the acurite app is a must, and I believe he only way to get that is for Meteobridge to support the SSL MitM method used in Acuparse.

bubba123
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:47 am

Re: Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

Post by bubba123 » Mon Feb 18, 2019 11:47 pm

I ended up getting a SDR usb drive and pulling the data for Acurite from the air. I just wish Meteobridge supported ingest from SDR so I wouldn’t have to futz with Weewx :(. At least this way I’m not supporting Acurite or their services.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5604
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

Post by admin » Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:09 pm

Only way to have your smarthubs still working is to setup a responder that reacts on requests to "hubapi.myacurite.com" inside your LAN and fakes the Acurite server still being there. Unfortunately, I failed to integrate that into Meteobridge itself as Meteobridge is just passing through traffic from the LAN port and does not act as a DNS server to the smarthub. Sorry.

Acurite is disabling sold products to spare money keeping their servers running and encourages to buy new stuff (which might also be at risk to be switched off, when new products show up). So if you buy, decide clever which station manufacturer to give your money.

joe002
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:57 am

Re: Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

Post by joe002 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:42 pm

Boris, hi. So it sounds like you won't be putting a "hubapi.myacurite.com" emulator inside of Meteobridge, correct? If the SmartHUB won't be supported anymore, did you ever get past the encryption problem with the Access?
Last edited by joe002 on Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

joe002
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:57 am

Re: Continued use of AcuRite SmartHUB with Meteobridge

Post by joe002 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:45 pm

bubba123, hi. I have seen some generic/incomplete articles on setting up an SDR to replace the hub. Also, did you also get the pressure to work too? If you got something to work that doesn't require me to keep my computer running and does send the data through to the Meteobridge, can you please share the solution here so I (and others?) can duplicate it? Thanks!

Post Reply