TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:32 pm

Puhhh... that was a tough ride but after all we made it :D

We have implemented WiFi support for the the hardware update that TP-Link did on the MR3020. MR3020 is the by far most used platform for Meteobridge, as it is cheap and world-wide available. With the release of a version 3 of this platform TP-Link gave us quite some headache to get Meteobridge fully operational on this internally totally changed hardware. So we are proud to announce a WiFi supporting Meteobridge firmware for the new MR3020 V3 model.

Flashing the MR3020 V3 is a bit more complicated as it needs a TFTP server setup on your PC. But apart from that it will be easy. We are also looking to provide a virtual machine you can easily install and do flashing from there, which will free you from setting up a TFTP service on your rig. Please stay tuned...

You find details and the new firmware to flash TL-MR3020 V3 here: http://meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/P ... g_Hardware

Users of the 1.1 firmware of the MR3020V3 are asked to flash 1.3 firmware. Doing so will need a manual license transfer. Please just mail MAC address of the updated unit to "info(at)meteobridge.com".

As this firmware is still very young there might be some bugs in there. If you find one, please also let us know.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:00 am

To make flashing via TFTP more easy we created a virtual machine that can be easily started on VirtualBox on any platform (Windows, Mac, Linux) and provides a ready-made TFTP server. From here flashing of the MR3020V3 is even more easy then to flash it by means of its web interface.

You find more info here: http://meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/P ... g_Hardware

ZUBXI
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: South Africa - Pretoria
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ZUBXI » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:14 pm

Good day to all in the support team.
Firstly thanks for all your hard work and dedication.
Please note that im a total Newbeee! :D
I received my new MR3020 V3 today and was very enthusiastic to change it over to Meteobridge. I followed all the instructions to the T and got to the black screen with the options A- Serve, -Update, 1 -Exit and 9-Shutdown, then followed the steps plucked it into my router, kept the button in , powered it up and released the button after 15+seconds.
Nothing happen after about 3 minutes i pressed A- serve meteobridge for TL-MR3020 V3 firmware, still nothing changed.
Underneath 9 is funtion:_ the underscore just keep on flashing.

Please assist. what am i doing wrong??
Regards
ZUBXI - (Peter)
From a sunny South Africa

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:12 pm

Sounds correct what you are doing. Is the MR3020 and your PC connected to the same router?
Do both operate on wired Ethernet, no WiFi?

ZUBXI
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: South Africa - Pretoria
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ZUBXI » Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:47 am

Yes both pluged into a D-Linked LTE router. And yes both wired.
Regards.
PETER

ZUBXI
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: South Africa - Pretoria
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ZUBXI » Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:58 am

After I power up the MR30-20. What is the next step. Do I need to go Option A or 1 Or just nothing and is flushing suppose to start automatically.?

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:39 am

Power-up with a hold reset button initiates the download and flashing procedure. Nothing specific to do your you. Unfortunately, you can't see progress. When LED starts blinking slow and then switched to fast blinking, then flashing was successful.

ZUBXI
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: South Africa - Pretoria
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ZUBXI » Fri Apr 06, 2018 6:26 am

Thanks for clearing that issue that it will start automatically.
Just another two questions.

Hardware Question.
The switch on the MR-3020 where must it be:
A) 3G/4G ( sure not)
B) WISP
C) AP

Lets start: I successfully installed 1) Oracle VM VirtualBox and successfully imported appliance file.

Software question:
In Oracle VM VirtualBox/Machine/Settings/Network: witch option should i choose.
A) Not attached
B) NAT
C) NAT Network
D) Bridged Adapter
E) Internal Network
F) Host-Only Adapter
G)Generic Driver

Rergards
Peter

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:58 pm

Switch position does not matter.

Please select "D) Bridged Adapter".

ZUBXI
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: South Africa - Pretoria
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ZUBXI » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:21 am

Thanks for the latest update on the 13th. One problem after that no data is going out to my weather platforms. All looks good and I have two green right marks indicating communication is good and established. But yet WU and meteotemplate indicate no data Flo and system is offline.
I rebooted on the 14th and after that I encounter this problem.
Www.grasslandsweather.co.za
Any sugestions
Regards
PETER

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:53 pm

which problem do you encounter? page looks rather fine to me.

wochips
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by wochips » Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:29 pm

When I try to download Meteobridge-TFTP-Server I get the contents of the file shown on the screen but downloading seems to be taking place. When I try ti import the download file I get the following error message: Failed to import appliance C:/Users/Rob/AppData/Local/Packages/Microsoft.MicrosoftEdge_8wekyb3d8bbwe/AC/#!001/MicrosoftEdge/Cache/I48JSWFX/Meteobridge-TFTP-Server[1].ova.

Could not create the imported medium 'C:\Users\Rob\VirtualBox VMs\Meteobridge-TFTP-Server\Meteobridge-TFTP-Server-disk001.vmdk'.

VMDK: Compressed image is corrupted 'C:\Users\Rob\Meteobridge-TFTP-Server-disk001.vmdk' (VERR_ZIP_CORRUPTED).

Result Code: VBOX_E_FILE_ERROR (0x80BB0004)
Component: ApplianceWrap
Interface: IAppliance {8398f026-4add-4474-5bc3-2f9f2140b23e}

The file size also is only 5.2 Mb and not the 1Gb plus size detailed in the setup guide. Is it normal for the contents to be visible during download and any suggestions on how to overcome this?

Many thanks
Rob
WMR88 UV
iConnect

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5736
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Sun Jul 22, 2018 12:00 am

Looks like a very special problem on your rig. Do you have needed hard disk storage capacityy?

wochips
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by wochips » Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:26 am

Yes over 1Tb of free space. Standard setup running Windows 10 with latest updates. Will try using a different browser to see if it makes any difference.
WMR88 UV
iConnect

wochips
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by wochips » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:14 am

I used Chrome browser to access the preparation page and file downloaded normally. So problem solved.

Many thanks

Rob
WMR88 UV
iConnect

Post Reply