Windy.com API upload from Meteobridge

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

SANdood
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: Windy.com seeking input on developing API - Let's make Meteobridge first

Post by SANdood » Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:48 pm

Is there any chance of adding support for multiple Stations per API Key (the API apparently supports it)?

Such would be nicer than having to create separate Windy accounts for each Station.

User avatar
gus
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Windy.com seeking input on developing API - Let's make Meteobridge first

Post by gus » Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:25 pm

SANdood wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:48 pm
Is there any chance of adding support for multiple Stations per API Key (the API apparently supports it)?

Such would be nicer than having to create separate Windy accounts for each Station.
That is exactly how Windy works. You use the same Windy account with the same API if you want create multiple Windy stations. Pretty similar to other online weather services that let you create multiple stations with one account; WU, PWSweather, WeatherCloud, Metoffice WOW, Openweathermap to name a few that let you have multiple stations with one account.

To get started go to https://stations.windy.com

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5754
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Windy.com seeking input on developing API - Let's make Meteobridge first

Post by admin » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:35 am

SANdood wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:48 pm
Is there any chance of adding support for multiple Stations per API Key (the API apparently supports it)?

Such would be nicer than having to create separate Windy accounts for each Station.
Yes, but Meteobridge can only feed one (and only supports one connected station). Using multiple Meteobridges would be needed.

SANdood
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: Windy.com seeking input on developing API - Let's make Meteobridge first

Post by SANdood » Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:41 pm

Yes, I have two Meteobridges.

I'd like to have only one Windy account, with two stations. I'd configure one as `station: 0` and the other as `station: 1`.

For this to work, the Meteobridge would have to add support for specifying the station number in addition to the API key.

User avatar
gus
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Windy.com seeking input on developing API - Let's make Meteobridge first

Post by gus » Thu May 02, 2019 4:49 pm

Ahaaaa !!! Good point!

I would suggest for now to use the HTTP method under the Services tab and be sure to include the station=1 tag.

Code: Select all

https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/XXX-LONG-API-KEY-HERE-XXX?station=1&winddir=[wind0dir-avg2]&windspeedmph=[wind0wind-avg2=mph]&windgustmph=[wind0wind-max10=mph]&tempf=[th0temp-avg5=F]&rainin=[rain0total-sum60=in.2]&baromin=[thb0seapress-min1=inHg.2]&dewptf=[th0dew-avg1=F]&humidity=[th0hum-avg1]&uv=[uv0index-avg5]

ToTo
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:24 am

Re: Windy.com API upload from Meteobridge

Post by ToTo » Wed May 08, 2019 2:16 pm

I send my meteo data with meteobridge nano. The shortest intervall is 5min, can i send shorter with http send method?

It seems for me, meteobridge sends the actually wind direction. Would not it be better, send AVG wind direction?
A Bug in Meteobridge Windy Support?
https://community.windy.com/topic/8186/ ... n-interval

User avatar
gus
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Windy.com API upload from Meteobridge

Post by gus » Thu May 09, 2019 4:27 pm

ToTo wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 2:16 pm
I send my meteo data with meteobridge nano. The shortest intervall is 5min, can i send shorter with http send method?

It seems for me, meteobridge sends the actually wind direction. Would not it be better, send AVG wind direction?
A Bug in Meteobridge Windy Support?
https://community.windy.com/topic/8186/ ... n-interval
I totally agree. Wind direction should be averaged and not actual. I'm using 2 minute average with HTTP method to cut down on wind vane flutter. This is the suggestion from Windy as they stated they have adopted this from CWOP.

Yes you can send in less than 5 minute upload increments as I read a Windy employee say, but they will throw it out and only keep every 5 minutes. So there is no benefit in sending quicker than 5 minutes.

But there could be some benefit to HTTP method as you can then tweak the variables to your preference. I think Boris should publish the current Windy variables used.

Here is my HTTP method string:
https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/X ... X?winddir=[wind0dir-avg2]&windspeedmph=[wind0wind-avg2=mph]&windgustmph=[wind0wind-max10=mph]&tempf=[th0temp-avg5=F]&rainin=[rain0total-sum60=in.2]&baromin=[thb0seapress-min1=inHg.2]&dewptf=[th0dew-avg1=F]&humidity=[th0hum-avg1]&uv=[uv0index-avg5]

ToTo
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:24 am

Re: Windy.com API upload from Meteobridge

Post by ToTo » Sat May 11, 2019 12:21 pm

Wind AVG2 is fixed in Release 4.0 May 10, 2019

Thanks!

Post Reply