Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid **solved**

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

User avatar
ConligWX
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by ConligWX » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:00 pm

Snapper wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:33 am
Ok, done some further investigation on this.

In normal events, the 5 minute check will check connectivity and if the ping check fails, it restarts the networking stack.
This will recreate the provisioning SSID as it brings up ra0.
I confirmed this by blocking pings through my gateway.

Actually this is good behaviour - if there are connectivity issues, then I would want the provisioning SSID to be restored in case there are other issues.
The 30 minute no-ssid.sh event will take it back down again next time it runs though.

In normal events, the 5 minute check passes the ping check and the provisioning SSID does not get restored.
Thanks for the explanation, though in my setup, the ping check times out even though there s connectivity to the internet. I end D up changing the ping check to my ISP's DNS servers ( only 5 hopes away and not about 30 with google.de/meteobridge.com

I now don't get the time outs. Only issue is, if the Nano is rebooted the test5m.sh is reverted back to its default state and then I get constant timeouts and connectivity resets all the time.

Snapper
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:49 pm

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by Snapper » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:49 pm

I had the pings failing on Sophos UTM / Virgin Media. I had to enable ping and ICMP passthrough on webadmin.
Perhaps XG has something similar?

If not, edit the below so the word newdomain and newdomain2 are your new ping targets. Careful to leave all the quotes etc the same.
SSH in and run the script.

Code: Select all

cd /tmp/mnt/data/scripts

echo "#!/bin/sh" > chg-ping.sh
echo "#" >> chg-ping.sh
echo "### Change ping check domains" >> chg-ping.sh
echo "#" >> chg-ping.sh
echo "sed -i 's/\"www.google.de\"/\"newdomain\"/g;s/\"meteobridge.com\"/\"newdomain2\"/g' /home/meteohub/test5m.sh" >> chg-ping.sh
echo "" >> chg-ping.sh

chmod +x chg-ping.sh
Now create an service event to run on completion of the SSID change (or on a timer) and this will amend test5m.sh inline remove the old domains and replace with your new.

Normal things about at own risk / backup first!
Works fine on mine though!

User avatar
ConligWX
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by ConligWX » Sun Feb 03, 2019 3:07 pm

looks like Boris has added a check and fix in the latest build.

Meteobridge 3.9 (Feb 3 2019, build 1925), FW 1.3
  • Meteobridge NANO: disables internal WLAN access point 15 minutes after reboot, if Internet connection works fine.

Snapper
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:49 pm

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by Snapper » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:17 am

Great news :)

I brought the Nano-SD as I'm trying to simplify my plethora of VM's and if it does all I need out of the box without workarounds, them I'm happy!

User avatar
ConligWX
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by ConligWX » Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:04 pm

Snapper wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:49 pm
I had the pings failing on Sophos UTM / Virgin Media. I had to enable ping and ICMP passthrough on webadmin.
Perhaps XG has something similar?
Are you double NAT'd or is your VM Hub in Modem Mode?

Snapper
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:49 pm

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by Snapper » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:57 pm

modem mode - been working great for many years!

ToTo
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:24 am

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by ToTo » Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:44 am

ConligWX wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 3:07 pm
looks like Boris has added a check and fix in the latest build.

Meteobridge 3.9 (Feb 3 2019, build 1925), FW 1.3
  • Meteobridge NANO: disables internal WLAN access point 15 minutes after reboot, if Internet connection works fine.
The fix doesn't seem to work (FW 3.9 07.04.). The Nano SD reports "Access point operation disabled 178889 secs after boot", but if i scan the available WLAN in my range the meteobridge is listed further on?

Can this someone confirm?
PWS Magdeburg - Germany - https://wetter.111mb.de MB-Smart 1.06F

User avatar
ConligWX
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Nano SD still broadcasting setup ssid

Post by ConligWX » Fri Apr 12, 2019 1:35 pm

The offending WiFi AP Interface from the Nano is shut down on my device once an internet check has been completed.

If the AP is still broadcasting then either the shutdown of the interface never happened (failed), or the internet check against google.de/metebridge.de timed out.

I have already posted my findings on this in previous posts. My nano would drop pings to google.de and meteobridge, and then it would not disable the wifi broadcast. I then changed the test5m.sh to point to my local ISP DNS server IP addresses and never had an issue after that.

viewtopic.php?f=56&t=13370#p27484

So far however my nano uses default test5m settings and does not suffer from the time outs as before. WiFi AP interface IS disabled after the default time (15 minutes)

you can SSH to the NANO and run ifconfig

if interface ra0 is not listed the its down

Post Reply