Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6444
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by admin »

Just released version of Meteobridge does support the GW1000. Lacking a larger sensor array, any Meteobridge user out there with a GW1000 setup including wind/uv/solar/rain/air quality/moisture is highly welcome to give me remote access to the Meteobridge, so that I can finish development to also support these sensors.

Numbers of sensors supported by the GW1000 is really impressive:
  • 8x WH31 sensors (temp/hygro with display)
  • 16x WH51 sensors (soil temp and moisture with sensor cable and display)
  • a WS68 sensor array delivering outdoor temp/hum, wind and uv/solar data
  • a Wh40 rain counter
  • a WH41 air quality meter
GW1000 can be directly plugged into the USB port of a regular MR3020 Meteobridge, no additional power needed, no USB hub needed, very neat...

gw1000.jpeg
gw1000.jpeg (39.53 KiB) Viewed 2103 times

User avatar
galfert
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by galfert »

This is awesome. Much better than using an ObserverIP. You get more reliability. You get to see your extra sensors.
MB with GW1000 working.jpg
MB with GW1000 working.jpg (40.26 KiB) Viewed 2078 times
The sensor called Data is the PM2.5 and the one called Extra #1 is an extra tempuature/humidity sensor. Other sensors are available that I don't have. Soon even more sensors will be coming out.
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
galfert
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by galfert »

Just so that everyone understands the significance of this. If you own a Fine Offset clone station. That is you have a station brand that is Ambient Weather, Ecowitt, Tycon, Aercus, Watson, Misol, Froggit, Maplin, Conrad...etc. Then you can use this GW1000 WiFi console. You can keep using your existing console too.

If your station looks like any of these, then the GW1000 (with the matching frequency) will work:
Fine Offset Outdoor Sensor Array.png
Fine Offset Outdoor Sensor Array.png (175.49 KiB) Viewed 2051 times

All you need to do is get a GW1000 with the matching frequency for your station. Your frequency will be 433 MHz, 915 MHz, or 868 MHz. After you know your frequency then you can order the correct version of the GW1000 now from Ecowitt. They will send you a GW1000 with whichever frequency you need.

This is truly a worthy upgrade.
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
galfert
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by galfert »

Actually your station can look like this too and the GW1000 will also work.

This is the HP3501 which you can get as a complete station from Ecowitt also.
HP3501.jpg
HP3501.jpg (28.33 KiB) Viewed 2049 times
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
WA4OPQ
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:36 am
Location: Tennessee, USA About 40 miles west of Nashville y'all.
Contact:

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by WA4OPQ »

I am very glad to see this. I'm ordering one this week.
I see that it plugs directly into the MR3020.
Does it plug into the DIR-505?

jjhuffo
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by jjhuffo »

Plugged the GW1000 into the DIR 505 and it runs fine so far.
The 505 only found the GW1000 when on wireless only, when the 505 was cable LAN attached no go.
The GW1000 only configured if I turned off wireless data on my Pixel 3.
The 2.5 sensor is spotty, lost connection several times so far, and when connected it is reading a bit higher than my Purple
Air...but there is literally no particulate right now so best to wait.
The GW1000 picked up all 6 of my Ambient sensors no problem.
The ecowitt PM 2.5 does not show on the Ambient Dashboard or live feed from the ObserverIP at FW 4.5.6.
Meteobridge allowed me to renew my long expired license for 19Euro which is a lot cheaper than I remember it being before, Kudos.

User avatar
WA4OPQ
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:36 am
Location: Tennessee, USA About 40 miles west of Nashville y'all.
Contact:

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by WA4OPQ »

My GW1000 arrives tomorrow.
Is it possible to set it up on static IP?

User avatar
galfert
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by galfert »

GW1000 USB can be plugged in anywhere. All the USB plug does is provide power to the GW1000.

There is currently with latest firmware 1.4.6 no way to set a static IP on the GW1000. I prefer to set a DHCP IP address reservation via MAC address on your router or DHCP server.

I've been running this GW1000 / Meteobridge combo for a few weeks and it hasn't skipped a beat. Much better than the ObserverIP / Meteobridge combo.

Added plus is that the PM2.5 is picked up by the Meteobridge and I'm now sending that to SQL. Other extra sensors are also picked up by Meteobridge
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
WA4OPQ
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:36 am
Location: Tennessee, USA About 40 miles west of Nashville y'all.
Contact:

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by WA4OPQ »

I've switched my "2902->ObserverIP->Meteobridge" system to a "2902->GW1000->Meteobridge" setup.
Everything is working well, I'm checking the barometer calibration. And I've come up with solutions for my remote site static IP concerns.

Many thanks to the API implementation gurus.

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by Andyk1 »

You can set a static IP for the GW1000 through your router.
Image

nordstrandqueen
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:22 pm
Location: Lake Neusiedl, Austria

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by nordstrandqueen »

Does this mean that I can't connect one of these weather stations (Froggit, Sainlogic etc.) directly to meteohub but will need this extra device GW1000?

Sorry for the maybe stupid question... I need a new weather station as my wind sensor is broken.
I think an extra device might be a good solution if you already have one of these stations and can't connect, but not if you need to buy a completely new station.

Best
Stef
gus wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:34 pm
Just so that everyone understands the significance of this. If you own a Fine Offset clone station. That is you have a station brand that is Ambient Weather, Ecowitt, Tycon, Aercus, Watson, Misol, Froggit, Maplin, Conrad...etc. Then you can use this GW1000 WiFi console. You can keep using your existing console too.

If your station looks like any of these, then the GW1000 (with the matching frequency) will work:
Fine Offset Outdoor Sensor Array.png


All you need to do is get a GW1000 with the matching frequency for your station. Your frequency will be 433 MHz, 915 MHz, or 868 MHz. After you know your frequency then you can order the correct version of the GW1000 now from Ecowitt. They will send you a GW1000 with whichever frequency you need.

This is truly a worthy upgrade.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6444
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Fine Offset GW1000 weather gateway now supported

Post by admin »

Meteohub does not support this stations. You are in the Metobridge forum here.

Post Reply