Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by admin »

I invested some spare time to port the Meteobridge package to the TP-Link router WR902AC Version 3.x. While version 1.x of this router was already supported, the version 3.x is powered with a different SOC and it needed a complete new firmware build. Like the MR3020 Version 3.x this model does not need a USB hub when being connected to weather stations via USB and it has 64 MB of RAM which gives it the same headroom as the MR3020 Version 3.x. The 5 GHz WLAN mode of the router is not supported, it is running on LAN or 2.4 GHz WLAN only.

To have this router supported is extremely interesting for US customers, as TP-Link is no more selling the other Meteobridge supported models anymore in the US!
TL-WR902ACv3.png
TL-WR902ACv3.png (54.69 KiB) Viewed 4083 times

Flashing needs to be done via TFTP as explained here: https://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index. ... g_Hardware

The port is rather new, so some bugs might still be in there. Please report to this thread, if you find any.

User avatar
galfert
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by galfert »

Is there any chance in adding Pro features to this model? In the US we can no longer buy the Pro. What I really want is a Black Pro as I have an Ecowitt GW1000, but the Black Pro never sold in the US. As an Ecowitt GW1000 user I have no way of getting Pro features. Because this new WR902AC has more RAM maybe it is possible to add the Pro features to it? Maybe if still not enough RAM then maybe with a USB flash drive for added storage?
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by admin »

You can order a MB PRO directly from me. Please drop a note at "info(at)meteobridge.com".

reyesrau
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:08 am

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by reyesrau »

I'm not having any luck installing meteobridge-tl-wr902v3-v1.3.bin on a WR902 V3. I'm using tftpd64 on a Windows 10 system, which allows me to see the tftp connections happening. The method given of holding the button on the WR902 while powering up does nothing; I can only get it to initiate a tftp recovery transfer by pressing and holding the reset button with a paperclip for about 10 seconds. It does appear to be successfully downloading the entire tp_recovery.bin image (verified both by watching tftpd64 and packet snooping with Wireshark). But I end up with a WR902 that has all LEDs blinking slowly on and off green simultaneously. It never shows up on the network.

reyesrau
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:08 am

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by reyesrau »

I appear to have found a work-around solution... First install OpenWrt, then install Meteobridge:

1. Download the "...tft-recovery.bin" image from https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr902ac_v3

2. Rename that file to "tp_recovery.bin" and put it on your tftp server (at IP address 192.168.0.66).

3. Press and hold the "reset" button on the TP-WR902AC v3 with a paperclip for about 10-15 seconds until it reboots and begins the tftp download.

4. The TP-WR902AC v3 will then (eventually) reboot into OpenWrt. It appears that OpenWrt defaults to 192.168.1.1, so if you have another router at that address it may get stomped on. Log into that via web browser and use the browser-based firmware update to select the meteobridge-tl-wr902v3-v1.3.bin file that you've previously downloaded. The process is described at https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-quick-st ... grade.luci

If all goes well, you will (hopefully, finally) have a working Meteobridge. I don't know why the published method for the TP-WR902ACv3 didn't work for me, but this method did. Your mileage may vary.

Additional note: If you're using tftpd64 under Windows 10, I had to completely disable Windows Firewall to get the tftp connection to work.

mariomarconi
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 12:30 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by mariomarconi »

What procedure do you follow to flash the router WR902AC? Could you post it in detail? Thanks

mariomarconi
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 12:30 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by mariomarconi »

I tried the reyesrau procedure but at the end when I load the file meteobridge-tl-wr902v3-v1.3.bin it doesn't work.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by admin »

sorry, that you don't have the skills to make it working, However, it worked fine for others including me.

mariomarconi
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 12:30 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by mariomarconi »

The wr902ac v3 does not have a reset on the large upper button but near the power socket.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by admin »

yes and by keeping this pressed during startup it starts receiving the image from the TFTP server and updating its flash storage.

laurentw
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:09 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by laurentw »

Hi,

I bought this model : TL-WR902AC(EU) ver 3.0,
and tried to put the meteobrige system on it. I've successfully prepare a TFTP server and I can see in the log that the bin has be downloaded by the TP-Link device (see attachement).

Unfortunatly, after that, I connect the device on my regular router and I suspect that the system is not bootin. In facts, I have all green light (on the cover) flashing together, slowly... And no device connected to my router with the TP-Link Mac Address.

I followed the instruction :https://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index. ... g_Hardware and used this firmware
http://connect.meteobridge.com/files/me ... 3-v1.3.bin

Any advice and help appreciated. Thanks
Attachments
2019-12-04_2228.png
2019-12-04_2228.png (15.12 KiB) Viewed 2441 times

RABrand
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by RABrand »

I have a question regarding the 3 position switch on the TP-Link router. Once the Meteobridge firmware is loaded, does it matter what position the switch is in, or is the switch no longer functioning??

Thanks!!
Ron B.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by admin »

Once Meteobridge is installed the switch is of no use.

RABrand
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by RABrand »

I tried several times to load the Meteobridge firmware using tftpd64 and following the instructions provided in the wiki. Each time, it appeared successful, but ended with all lights slowly flashing. Using the procedure outlined by reyesrau, I have finally managed to get the Meteobridge firmware loaded on my TP-Link WR902AC Ver 3.x router.

Kudos to reyesrau for providing a working solution regarding the firmware!! :D

Ron B.
Last edited by RABrand on Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RABrand
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Meteobridge now available for TP-Link WR902AC Version 3.x

Post by RABrand »

I am curious about the functionality of the wireless (WiFi) operation of the Meteobridge firmware on this router (WR902AC Ver 3.x)

I have successfully flashed the firmware, the Meteobridge boots up, I can connect through the LAN port via ethernet, and I am presented with the Meteobridge interface. So far, so good. However, when I go to the 'Setup Network' tab, select 'Wireless LAN', complete the setup steps, save and reboot, the 'Wireless LAN' is not functioning, and I cannot access the Meteobridge.
After resetting the Meteobridge and regaining access, if I go into the OpenWrt interface, it shows the wireless interface as 'disabled', and despite all attempts, it cannot be enabled.
As a test, I flashed the router with just OpenWrt (no Meteobridge), and was able to easily enable the wireless interface, so there is nothing wrong with the hardware.

Am I missing something?? Or is there no wireless support yet for the WR902AC Ver. 3.x?

Thanks!
Ron B.

Post Reply