Meteobridge won't start after reboot **solved**

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
User avatar
gus
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Meteobridge won't start after reboot **solved**

Post by gus » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:17 pm

Either It seems that Meteobridge servers are down or my Meteobridge just crapped out.

My Meteobridge currently seems stuck with endless cycling reboots, over and over. After the black screen I see this:
The CGI process did not produce any response

Then it reboots again. The GUI interface never shows up. I've tried power cycling and nothing. My Internet is working. I've changed nothing on the Meteobridge.
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
gus
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Meteobridge won't start after reboot

Post by gus » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:25 pm

Okay seeing some different things happen now on different reboots.

Sometimes it will says only to reboot itself yet again:
No such file or directory

Then sometimes it will send off a weather update other times not but it just keeps rebooting over and over again.

One time that it was up for a few seconds I got to capture this from the GUI:
wnetd (15.09.2019 08:20:14): process started.
system (15.09.2019 08:20:14): start of logging process initiated.
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:15): historical data loaded (29 records).
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:15): data logger (version 5.1b, build 13143) started.
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:16): connect station 0 (GW1000 via TCP/IP).
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:19): waiting for sensors (wind0, rain0, th0, thb0) to provide data.
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:19): services paused.
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:22): sensors are now providing data.
logger (15.09.2019 08:20:22): services started.

But it was frozen and I couldn't move to any other tabs....then I see that it was rebooting yet again.

Perhaps this latest update has a bug? I noticed that the update log says that the GW1000 was just updated to support extra soil sensors. But there is an error in the description of this soil sensor. The soil sensor is just a moisture sensor....not a temperature and moisture sensor.
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
gus
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Meteobridge won't start after reboot

Post by gus » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:46 pm

I finally got it to come up. What I did is I removed the GW1000 from the USB port of the Meteobridge. I let the Meteobridge fully boot up and then put the GW1000 back into the USB port. It though could all have been a coincidence. I'll have to keep an eye on this. Maybe powering the GW1000 by the Meteobridge is not the best idea. I've never seen this problem before and it has been running like this for many months even through several power outages. So my explanation doesn't fully make sense.
MR3020 v1
GW1000

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5879
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge won't start after reboot

Post by admin » Sat Sep 21, 2019 10:17 am

Meteobridge resets USB port during boot or start of data logging, or when no data coming in. This might feel like a power-down for the GW1000. Feeding it separately via power might be a better option.

Post Reply