Meteobridge RPi4 - Localization by IP stopped working **solved**

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
burnsb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Meteobridge RPi4 - Localization by IP stopped working **solved**

Post by burnsb »

Recently the "Localization by IP" area on the "Meteobridge Information" screen stopped reporting my ISP information. MB = v5.1 build 2202)
I suspect that the problem may be that the provider "ip-tracker.org" may have changed their http-response layout to the IP track request coming from Meteobridge.

Looking at the Meteobridge code it appears that the program "/home/iptrack.sh" is failing on line 13 when it attempts to get the FLAGURL.
FLAGURL="`cat $FILE | awk -F\<img\ src= '{print $2}' | awk -F\' '{print $2}'`"

For a simple test I changed that line to read:
FLAGURL="`cat $FILE | awk -F src= '{print $2}' | awk -F\' '{print $2}'`"
and the IP location was successful.

Can you please have a look and tell me if you agree this may be an issue?
Thanks much.
Last edited by burnsb on Fri Apr 16, 2021 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
galfert
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Meteobridge RPi4 - Localization by IP stopped working

Post by galfert »

I regularly use the IP Tracker website to look up IP's of member posts on the various forums (helps with forum moderation).

I noticed that the IP Tracker website has changed considerably.

So it does seem like an update is needed by the Meteobridge.
Meteobridge RPI | GW1000

burnsb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Re: Meteobridge RPi4 - Localization by IP stopped working

Post by burnsb »

This problem has been resolved in Meteobridge 5.1e (April 16 2021) build 2227.
Thank you.

User avatar
galfert
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:31 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Meteobridge RPi4 - Localization by IP stopped working **Solved**

Post by galfert »

It does indeed. Thank you for the update.
Meteobridge RPI | GW1000

Post Reply