RPi 3b or 4b???? **solved**

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
2thepoint
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:29 pm

RPi 3b or 4b???? **solved**

Post by 2thepoint »

migrating from a 3020 to a RPi...I have access to a 3b and a 4b. Is one better than the other?? Pros & cons.

thanks

User avatar
Gyvate
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 4:36 pm

Re: RPi 3b or 4b????

Post by Gyvate »

A RPi4 is definitely stronger than a RPi3 - also the interfaces have improved.
In order to run Meteobridge on a RPi4 B, the 2 GB model is sufficient and gives a very nice performance,
also with reports/charts over longer periods shown in a short time.
Also, running multiple stations (with many sensors) really starts making sense with MB on a RPi4.
In my personal experience the best Meteobridge user experience - 5-10 times faster (feels like) than a MB Pro.
A 16 GB SLC SD card (SLC industrial microSD mandatory !) gives space for 7+ years of data from 2 stations and 25-30 observations derived from the sensors each (minute and hour based).
The 2 GB model can be run with passive cooling.
Want to see hardware features ?
Look up https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/ra ... 4-model-b/
WH4000SE 1.5.9/2 x GW1000 1.6.8/HP1000SE Pro 1.7.4/WH2650 1.6.8
2xMeteobridge Pro [B+R] 14475, RPi4-2/16 release 2460
Ecowitt 5763, 5764; WU ISAARB3; ISAARB22; Weathercloud 3011399141; http://meshka.eu

2thepoint
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:29 pm

Re: RPi 3b or 4b????

Post by 2thepoint »

Thanks Gyvate!
I was leaning toward the RPi4/2gb. Potential heat issues from powering it 7x24 had been a concern. The case has a heavy duty fan so that should help too. I have an "Approved" 16b SLC industrial microSD card on order that's scheduled to arrive in the next couple weeks. My set up has multiple sensors. I plan on adding a second station so your recommendation and examples to utilize the RPi4 fit my needs exactly.

Now what to do with my 2 3020v3's?? lol

Your help/reply is appreciated.

Phil

2thepoint
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:29 pm

Re: RPi 3b or 4b????

Post by 2thepoint »

solved

Post Reply