MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO, NANO SD and Raspberry Pi units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by JohnsPro »

I have a MB Pro Red that has been running for a while about November time frame I noticed events where the database shows rain totals of 1.28" when we had no rain and nothing in the rain rate. I have also noticed some other erroneous values that are a multiple of the 1.28". The other strange thing of note is that when I attempt to zero the values they go to -0.07in on the edit hour data but on the update is shows 0.00in. I have been doing the updates as they are released. Has anyone else noticed this strange behavior? I also have a Davis console that is receiving for the same ISS information but doesn't show the erratic values.
Any ideas of what could cause this please let me know or a resolution to getting the values to be Zero when I set them there not the -0.70in.
Snap1.jpg
Snap1.jpg (154.79 KiB) Viewed 296 times
Snap2.jpg
Snap2.jpg (144.14 KiB) Viewed 296 times
Thank You
John

Gyvate
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 4:36 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals

Post by Gyvate »

I went through my November history and (almost) nothing outside the normal
[ I have a daily manual record in parallel not based on MB but on consoles].
However I use metric units, not imperial.
Here comes the almost: occasionally I find "--" instead of "0.0 mm".
Afaik this means that the MB didn't receive anything from the sensor (over 3 hours ?)
That's my test machine (it shows this for rain0total and for rain1!total (2 stations, both MB receive from the same consoles the same sensor data and therefore should be identical.)) My production machine has "0.0 mm" instead of "--". Both MB ran the same software version (ran: 2020-11-04)).
The results should be identical but are not.
MB_raintotals_20201104_red.JPG
MB_raintotals_20201104_red.JPG (45.47 KiB) Viewed 284 times
MB_raintotals_20201104_black.JPG
MB_raintotals_20201104_black.JPG (38.43 KiB) Viewed 284 times
WH4000SE 1.5.4 / GW1000 (DP1500) 1.6.3 / HP1000SE Pro 1.6.9
Meteobridge Pro 5.0 (Nov 17 2020, build 14074), FW 1.4
Ecowitt 5763, 5764; WU ISAARB3; ISAARB22; Weathercloud 3011399141; http://meshka.eu/meteo/template - http://meshka.eu/Weather34

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals

Post by admin »

@jopnspro: Please try the reconstruct button. Maybe the database aggregation hierarchy went somehow wrong. I tried setting raintotals to "0.0in" and that works fine.

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals

Post by JohnsPro »

I have completed the reconstruct and I did not see any errors.
It is not just the change it is actually reading 1.28" when we have had no rain possibly snow but not melting yet.
Error_Num.jpg
Error_Num.jpg (141.61 KiB) Viewed 267 times
Then when I attempt to fix I get the -0.70in.
correction.jpg
correction.jpg (153.49 KiB) Viewed 267 times
The other item of note is that if I try and see data19num or data20num I get no results even though their is obviously data in the table below.
data19num.jpg
data19num.jpg (116.67 KiB) Viewed 267 times
Would their a way of backing up information wiping system and then reloading?
If the not full system possibly the database and reloading to start fresh but with original data.
Thank You John

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals

Post by admin »

can you please provide me remote access?

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals

Post by JohnsPro »

You should have received a PM with the information that you requested.
Thank You
John

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals

Post by admin »

There was a bug when editing data in the database with "use imperial units" switched on. Just released update does have the fixed.
Please redo the editing you did to get proper values back in there (instead of the negative wrong numbers).

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by JohnsPro »

I was able to correct the values and everything appears to be back to normal totals are what I would expect.
I do still see every once in a while a value of 1.28 or a multiple of that popping up in the value for rain0total but yet I see no rain0rate any ides if this could be related the problem?
Thank You
John

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by admin »

Do you say that there is no rain rate data logged?
Do multiples of 1.28 occur during normal logging operation (not when editing values)?

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by JohnsPro »

The reason for making the changes is because I intermittently see values in the rain0total when we have had no rain.
Rain0total.jpg
Rain0total.jpg (138.97 KiB) Viewed 90 times
But if I look in the rain0rate it is zero.
Rain0Rate.jpg
Rain0Rate.jpg (155.17 KiB) Viewed 90 times
The signal appears to be good but scaling on graph appears to be incorrect.
rain0signal.jpg
rain0signal.jpg (170.73 KiB) Viewed 90 times
Thank You
John

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by admin »

What is the RF threshold you have defined on "station - primary station" tab?

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by JohnsPro »

I have it set to 80 because I do have a 5 element beam that is line of sight to ISS ~80 feet and made to be used at the 915mhz frequency range.
Pri_Info.jpg
Pri_Info.jpg (112.85 KiB) Viewed 53 times
Normally I do not see the value get below -60db but recently ~ the last several weeks I have noticed some places where the the values show -80db.
Pri_Info.jpg
Pri_Info.jpg (112.85 KiB) Viewed 53 times
The values between the different sensors seem different.
wind0singal_odd.jpg
wind0singal_odd.jpg (191.83 KiB) Viewed 53 times
The value of a different sensor same time.
rain0signal_same.jpg
rain0signal_same.jpg (187.72 KiB) Viewed 53 times
Thank You
John
Attachments
wind0singal.jpg
wind0singal.jpg (186.74 KiB) Viewed 53 times

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by admin »

Scaling of some signal graphs will be fixed with next update.

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 6459
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by admin »

When RF receiver catches another rain sensor on same channel from time to time, then values will jump. You might try changing transmitter ID to avoid conflicts with other VP2s around? The partial -80db pickups might be data from somewhere else.

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: MB Red Pro rain totals. **solved**

Post by JohnsPro »

Great Thank You for that but I am going to check my antenna tomorrow because of the signal readings dropping low. I do find it strange that the signal only drops on some sensors.
John

Post Reply