MB PRO has died

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:52 pm

My MB has locked-up/died.

I rebooted/updated yesterday to 3.9 Feb 7 FW 1.4 if I remember correctly. Everything worked fine afterwards.
Vantage Pro2 (Plus) wirelessly connected to the MB. MB ether net connected to my LAN. The MB is located remotely so the front display is turned off (today Unfortunately).

Today when I checked the MB I got the message "The CGI process did not produce any Response". Looking at the MB, only the System Operational (Red) LED was on. I did a power off/on reboot. The RF Data Reception (orange) LED flashed slowly for 30 sec (?) then went out. Nothing. I also tried a reset on the front. No flashing LED to indicate reset.

Looking at Weather Underground it looks like my data was being sent until I did the reboot. An other application I pushed data to was also being updated.

Any suggestions for troubleshooting/gaining control.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:38 am

One query first? What do you mean by the VP2 wirelessly connected to the MB? Does this mean you have your VP2 set to re-transmit and the MB is receiving that via RF?

Apart from a re-boot have you done a complete re-power? What browser are you using?

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:22 am

The connection is directly from the VP2 to the MB Pro v the FR link, I do not have a Davis console.

Yes I have tried both a paper-clip reset and several unplug-wait-plun-in reboots.

I use firefox. My Linksys Wi-Fi/switch(s) no longer see the MB (List it as offline) Everything else is there.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:39 am

Can you try another browser so as to eliminate anything with Firefox?

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:57 am

Of course none of my other browsers "can load this page" or a variant of that message. My network can't see the MB

I don't see how a browser could prevent the MB from going through a power up reboot. Or a reset to try and turn on the display screen for troubleshooting.

I did try Chrome, edge, IE, Opera and Safari all relatively current.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:29 am

Well different browsers have been known to cause all sorts of problems with all sorts of things so never shrug a browser off.

Then are you sure because the "network" can't see the MB it's an issue with the MB? Just asking as I am not the one sitting in front of it and sometimes what some people might be seeing they don't mention?

How old is this MB and USB drive?

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:13 am

Got the MD June 2017. replaced the internal USB drive Jul 2018. The network is 4 months old; Upgraded to add 5Ghz Wi-Fi to get out of a crowed 2.4Ghz band.

Back to my OP
Looking at the MB, only the System Operational (Red) LED was on. I did a power off/on reboot. The RF Data Reception (orange) LED flashed slowly for 30 sec (?) then went out. Nothing. I also tried a reset on the front. No flashing LED to indicate reset.
After the factory default reset the front display did not come on, which I expected. The only indication of any life is the slow flashing for a short time when I do a power off/on reboot. None of witch requires a LAN, browser or VP2. Anyway that's why I isolated the problem to the MB.

Edit: New observation (now that it is dark) I see that the RF LED is dimly lit, Maybe 1/2 bright at most. So unplug/plugin start up, 30 sec flashing of the RF LED, then dim RF LED.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

User avatar
ConligWX
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by ConligWX » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:01 pm

Ag2000CO wrote:
Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:13 am
Got the MD June 2017. replaced the internal USB drive Jul 2018. The network is 4 months old; Upgraded to add 5Ghz Wi-Fi to get out of a crowed 2.4Ghz band.
have you contacted Boris via email? I know the Nano has a 2 year warranty, not sure about the Pro however.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sat Mar 09, 2019 11:02 pm

Some other thoughts? But probably unrelated?

Grade of USB replaced Jul 18, SLC?
If 2.4Ghz is crowded is there interference?
Distance to ISS and can ISS transmission be confirmed?

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:10 am

viewtopic.php?f=61&t=13038
AF8GUFNDNC one the the USB's you recommend. Had not thought about that. will get my screwdriver and see.

ISS used the 902-928Mhz band not close to the 2.4Ghz. {Not using the MB Wi Fi link. Use the internet connection}
Don't have a Davis console or anything else in the 900Mhz range to check. The VP2 and MB are about 30 feet apart. Things had been working with the MB reporting signals in the 60-65dbm range. I had RF level set to 75dbm (I think).

Will swap the USB to double check and report back.
Edit: Replacing the USB had not effect. A visual inspection did not reveal anything.
Last edited by Ag2000CO on Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:00 am

2.4Mhz, ok somehow I was thinking your router/MB was WiFi but you did mention Ethernet, ok can can that idea.

I don't have any other suggestions then? Are you able to access the MB webpages?

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:19 am

Are you able to access the MB webpages?
No. I see no activity on the ethernet plug. Not any handshaking - zip.

Your question prompted me to check the two external USB ports. again no activity that I could see.

How do I contact Boris for a replacement/trade as ConligWX suggested?
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:57 am

What this MB bought in the US or elsewhere?

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Ag2000CO » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:07 pm

US.-- Ambient Weather
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 746
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: MB PRO has died

Post by Mattk » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:28 pm

Ag2000CO wrote:
Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:07 pm
US.-- Ambient Weather
They would be who you should be dealing with.

Post Reply