Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab **solved**

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO, NANO SD and Raspberry Pi units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab **solved**

Post by MJM »

Is there a way to add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the "Services" tab so I can slave that to a different FTP CAM event in the "Events" tab that needs a separate logon credentials? This would facilitate the ability to use this feature to upload Webcam FTP uploads to different sources.

Currently using Meteobridge NANO SD

Thanks
Last edited by MJM on Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by Mattk »

In the service path use the full ID/password syntax such as

ftp://user:password@ftp.your.path and file here

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »

Where does the port number get inserted? I believe that is needed as well.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by Mattk »

Generically as ftp://user:password@host:port/path

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »


Gyvate
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 4:36 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by Gyvate »

It's probably rather
ftp://User:Password@ftp.ambientweather.net:port/path
e.g. ftp://user:pwd@ftp.ambientweather.net:21/directory1

the port is shown behind the host name separated by a colon (":") !
/directory1 is the directory name after the www-root* of the web site server

example to make it hopefully fully clear:
see my web site links
if I sent data to my Weather34 site via ftp, I would have to use ftp://meshka.eu:21/Weather34
(with username:password@ in front of the host name - I have separated this, because the forum software will swallow the text)

(* on the server which hosts a web site the "/" (root) directory shown in the URL is not the root directory of the server, but the so-called www-root (web root), where all URLs point at - for the external user it appears as "/", whereas on the OS of the server it might be /www/ or something similar.
It's, by-the-way, the same for the Meteobridge. The script meteobridge.cgi which is called when you connect with your browser to the MB by entering the IP address, is located in the directory /www/cgi-bin - whereas you address it as "/" - e.g. http://192.168.2.25/cgi-bin/meteobridge.cgi - see the URL in your browser after you connected)
WH4000SE 1.5.8/GW1000 1.6.6/HP1000SE Pro 1.7.1/WH2650 1.6.7-ß
2xMeteobridge Pro [B+R],RPi4-2/16
Ecowitt 5763, 5764; WU ISAARB3; ISAARB22; Weathercloud 3011399141; http://meshka.eu/meteo/template - http://meshka.eu/Weather34

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »

I updated the "Path" line in Meteobridge as follows: ftp://USER:PASSWORD@ftp.ambientweather:net:21/directory1 and Ambient Weather still doesn't seem to be able to accept and display the webcam. Any other thoughts or guidance is appreciated.

Thank you all for the support to date!

Gyvate
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 4:36 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by Gyvate »

MJM wrote:
Fri Apr 02, 2021 7:02 pm
I updated the "Path" line in Meteobridge as follows: ftp://USER:PASSWORD@ftp.ambientweather:net:21/directory1 and Ambient Weather still doesn't seem to be able to accept and display the webcam. Any other thoughts or guidance is appreciated.

Thank you all for the support to date!
./directory1 is an example ... a placeholder
You have to use the real directory name en lieu of "directory1", the directory which ambientweather.net expects.
I don't know which one that is as I'm not using ambientweather.net.
This should however be described somewhere with Ambient.

EDIT: I have looked a few things up with Ambient, and it appears that no directory is needed.
so: ftp://USER:PASSWORD@ftp.ambientweather.net:21 should be enough.

You have to look closely - ambientweather.net has a dot (.) between ambientweather and net - no colon;
but the behind the .net the port has to be added/separated by a colon (:). You had, in your last example one : too much (and one . too little).
See above in the quote underlined
WH4000SE 1.5.8/GW1000 1.6.6/HP1000SE Pro 1.7.1/WH2650 1.6.7-ß
2xMeteobridge Pro [B+R],RPi4-2/16
Ecowitt 5763, 5764; WU ISAARB3; ISAARB22; Weathercloud 3011399141; http://meshka.eu/meteo/template - http://meshka.eu/Weather34

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »

Thanks for the continued help. I updated the FTP string and there appears to be no other connection info on their site. See screen grab as to what is provided. Possibly another forum member here is familiar with how to get this to work.


Image
Attachments
Ambientweather webcam setup screen.png
Ambientweather webcam setup screen.png (33.35 KiB) Viewed 311 times

User avatar
wvdkuil
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 514
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by wvdkuil »

MJM wrote:
Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:14 pm
Thanks for the continued help. I updated the FTP string and there appears to be no other connection info on their site. See screen grab as to what is provided. Possibly another forum member here is familiar with how to get this to work.
The ftp string needs a base-folder location, which in this case is that /
There should be a name of the uploaded file at the end
Also carefully double check that there is no space between user : password
When I copied the password from the Ambient site it had a space as first character that should not be there.

Code: Select all

ftp://USER:PASSWORD@ftp.ambientweather.net:21/cam.jpg
Meteobridge will complain in the "Live Data => Upload Status" tab as it is not allowed to rename the "previous file"
FTP Upload (Camera):
2021-04-03 11:25:35 Error: 2021-04-03 11:25:29 Could not delete old cam.jpg, so could not rename mb_cam.jpg to that: remote delete failed ncftpput cam.jpg: could not rename remote file. (no more tries):
The webcam ftp-server at Ambient is not a "all standars" ftp server and does not allow renames.
If you use a ftp program and upload a file it also "disappeared" when you re-login.
But the file arrives correctly every time Meteobridge uploads.

Could you post a screenshot of what you entered in your Meteobridge for this cam-upload?
Maybe also the error at the "Live Data => Upload Status" tab?
Attached my setup I tested.

Wim
Attachments
ambient-cam.jpeg
ambient-cam.jpeg (69.75 KiB) Viewed 285 times
camsetup.jpeg
camsetup.jpeg (30.63 KiB) Viewed 285 times
Support for Leuven-Template & Scripts at https://support.leuven-template.eu/
Support for the PWS_Dashboard (HWS-template) https://pwsdashboard.com/

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »

I updated the "Path" in the events tab and made sure there aren't any spaces. Here is a screen shot from that tab:
Screenshot meteobridge 2021-04-03.png
Screenshot meteobridge 2021-04-03.png (7.16 KiB) Viewed 268 times
There is no listing of the webcam upload in the "Live Data" tab but there is only the weather station data elements confirmation to Ambient as successful.

User avatar
wvdkuil
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 514
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by wvdkuil »

MJM wrote:
Sat Apr 03, 2021 2:43 pm
I updated the "Path" in the events tab and made sure there aren't any spaces. Here is a screen shot from that tab:
Screenshot meteobridge 2021-04-03.png

There is no listing of the webcam upload in the "Live Data" tab but there is only the weather station data elements confirmation to Ambient as successful.
Another question then, is your Meteobridge capturing the webcam-image?

Wim
Attachments
webcam_capture.jpeg
webcam_capture.jpeg (66.55 KiB) Viewed 259 times
webcam_capture2.jpeg
webcam_capture2.jpeg (92.49 KiB) Viewed 259 times
Support for Leuven-Template & Scripts at https://support.leuven-template.eu/
Support for the PWS_Dashboard (HWS-template) https://pwsdashboard.com/

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »

Yes I am uploading successfully to weather underground and Webcam.io. I am using the "Service Setting" tab and FTP/SFTP service settings area for the Webcam.io upload. This is why I originally asked in there was a way to use this settings tab for another webcam upload.

I am using the meteobridge weather cam under the "station" tab to upload to weather underground successfully. See below:
Attachments
Screenshot meteobridge webcam 2021-04-03.png
Screenshot meteobridge webcam 2021-04-03.png (23.36 KiB) Viewed 238 times

MJM
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:21 pm

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by MJM »

Here is the confirmation under the Weather Nets tab:
Attachments
Screenshot WU .png
Screenshot WU .png (15.58 KiB) Viewed 237 times

User avatar
wvdkuil
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 514
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Add a second FTP/SFTP services configuration in the Services tab

Post by wvdkuil »

MJM wrote:
Sun Apr 04, 2021 3:52 am
Yes I am uploading successfully to weather underground and Webcam.io. I am using the "Service Setting" tab and FTP/SFTP service settings area for the Webcam.io upload. This is why I originally asked in there was a way to use this settings tab for another webcam upload.

I am using the meteobridge weather cam under the "station" tab to upload to weather underground successfully. See below:
The only difference with my working test-setup:
I upload the image also to the meteobridge (=meteoplug) server, tab "Weather Network" => "Meteobridge WeatherCamera"
You could try to add uploading there also.

=== If all fails:
There is only one possibility left, a copying error from the Ambient definition.
  • You can delete the camera definition on your Ambient Dashboard.
  • Then define a new camera,
  • copy the values of username and password to a text document ,
    you can only see the pasword once, it is replaced with 4 stars after saving
  • make a screenshot of the definition
and try again to set the upload with those values.

I never uploaded a camera-image to ambient before, I read your request
MJM wrote:
Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:14 pm
. . .
Possibly another forum member here is familiar with how to get this to work.
And I tested it as Ambient users of my PWS_Dashboard also show their webcams on their websites/ambient-net.

It works as it should, just one extra try after removing a space in the copied password.
If it works here at my place, it should work at your site also, no ideas left why it fails, sorry.

Wim
Attachments
webcam_capture3.jpg
webcam_capture3.jpg (33.95 KiB) Viewed 230 times
Support for Leuven-Template & Scripts at https://support.leuven-template.eu/
Support for the PWS_Dashboard (HWS-template) https://pwsdashboard.com/

Post Reply