UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

tp link and meteo bridge worked for years-until today after a reboot.

meteobridge no longer appears on router device list and only have one solid light and one blinking light on tp-link

I never see "Power up the device and wait until four LEDs show steady green "


ADMIN:
Help please!
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by admin »

is the big LED fast blinking or steady on? Which TP-Link device do you have?

Where do you have the statement "Power up the device and wait until four LEDs show steady green " from?
Just the big LED is relevant, the others are not.
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

The narrow light on the left is steady green and the wide light on the right is flashing green.

The device that worked for years until yesterday is TL MR3020 V 1.X

I note that the MAC number no longer shows up on router device list
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by admin »

wide LED flashing fast telly that no Internet connection in place. Did you connect via Ethernet or WiFi?
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

Connected with ethernet, swapped cable twice, and connected directly to the router both times.

Possible explanation:

I switched meteobridge from ethernet to wifi just before reboot; perhaps i have to leave cable disconnected but how would i enter PW?

Where ethernet plugs into router, the green pilot light is flashing, indicating a connection to Tp Link.

{There was a near by lightning strike that set off moisture alarm so maybe a TL reset is needed

How to do a reset

A SEPARATE QUESTION

I have a spare TL - MR3020 but version 3.2

I reviewed instructions for flashing meteobridge firmware for that device, which says:

4. Press the large button on the top of the MR3020 and keep it pressed."

There is no large button but do you mean press the large light?
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

Success!

I pushed the large button for 10 seconds and large light is now steady

Will I have to reinstall meteobridge?
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

After reset, TL device now shows up on router device list but cannot access at listed 192.168.1.1
Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1015
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by Mattk »

What is the router gateway IP?
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

192.168.1.254 IP address for the router

Here is device info for the TL that refuses connection:

MAC Address 64:66:b3:93:cc:d4
IPv4 Address / Name 192.168.1.1 / unknown6466b393ccd4
Last Activity Mon Sep 19 05:44:11 2022
Status on
Allocation static
Connection Type Ethernet LAN-4
Mesh Client No
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by admin »

@villiewe: Sorry, there is nothing like a 10 seconds reset. Looks to me as you jump from assumption to assumption.

Please start reading here: https://meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/Getting_Started

It explains how to reset to LAN DHCP mode, once you have configured WiFi and cannot connect via that anymore. It also tells a ton of different techniques to get the IP (not just looking at you router logs) and it also explains how to go back to factory defaults. Please take some time to go through all that in detail. There is nothing not explained there, I can provide.
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

Thanks for the link.

I was able to reset TL to DHCP.

But now acurite 1025 will send data to PC connect but will not send to meteobridge when connection swapped.

Is there some special Acurite reset needed for connect to meteobridge?
villiewe
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:01 am

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by villiewe »

I did finally get the acurite to connect to meteobridge again.

Thanks for your patience
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: UPDATED tp link and meteobridge worked for years-until today

Post by admin »

Acurite support in Meteobridge is a dying branch. Please have a look at the far better and less locked-in Ecowitt stations
Post Reply