Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO, NANO SD and Raspberry Pi units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

Recently - not sure when as I was away for a couple of weeks - I have started seeing gaps in charted data for several Ecowitt sensors I have.
Soil temp, soil moisture are two. Example is shown. The Ecowitt app shows the data are present and its not everything - I have a CO2/IAQ sensor and that seems to work. Rebooting has not helped. Any thoughts?
Screenshot 2022-09-19 054600.png
Screenshot 2022-09-19 054600.png (35.22 KiB) Viewed 215 times
User avatar
Gyvate
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 4:36 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by Gyvate »

rebooting when did not help ?
What is interesting is that the loss of data occurs always at the same time and data comes back at the same time.
something happens at midnight that makes the data reappear. And around 13:00 that makes them disappear.
When these gaps do not exist in the ecowitt.net dashboard, it's likely not to be a sensor issue and probably not a console issue either.

What about the other sensors - do they also show gaps ?
What does the log file say ? (System --> Logging)
What is the sensor reading age in the RAW sensor data page in a gap ?
What console are you using resp. what driver are you using inside MB - the GW1000 or the Ecowitt custom server driver ?

If it's the GW1000 driver, it could be a network infrastructure issue.
Did you make the IP address of the console fixed - by creating an IP address/MAC address binding in your router ?
If not (and the GW1000 API interface used), if the DHCP server of the router has a 12 h lease time, it may assign a new IP address - and MB wouldn't receive the console data anymore, and after the next 12 hours reassign the old (but meanwhile free) IP address again and would receive the sensor data again from the console.
WH4000SE 1.6.4/1 x DP1500/4 x GW1000 1.7.5/GW1100 2.1.4/HP1000SE Pro 1.8.5/2 x WH2650 1.7.5/GW2000 2.1.9
2xMeteobridge Pro [B+R] 14816, RPi4B-2GB/16 release 2850
Ecowitt 5763, 5764; WU ISAARB3; ISAARB22; Weathercloud 3011399141; http://meshka.eu
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by admin »

@grwkak: That can have many reasons. Does the "System - Log File" tab show any errors? If there is no indication I can offer to login remotely and check myself. Please send URL and password to "info(at)meteobridge.com" if you want me to have a look.
grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

No errors I can see:

setup (18.09.2022 06:14:18): use UTC stamp 2022-09-18 10:14:18 (1 tries)
database (18.09.2022 06:14:23): process started.
database (18.09.2022 06:14:23): Content of RAM database restored.
database (18.09.2022 06:14:25): database sync done (71 tables, 209/1994 writes).
wnetd (18.09.2022 06:14:30): process started.
system (18.09.2022 06:14:30): start of logging process initiated.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:30): databases connected. Update interval 3600 seconds.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:30): data logger (version 5.4, build 2860) started.
wnetd (18.09.2022 06:14:30): send data thread started (pid:2275 tid:2277)
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:30): connect station 0 (Vantage via USB serial).
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:30): connect station 1 (GW1000 via TCP/IP).
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:30): connect station 9 (System Data via Plug-in).
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:31): station 0 (Vantage), wakeup sent.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:34): waiting for sensors (wind0, rain0, th0, thb0) to provide data.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:34): services paused.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:34): station 0 (Vantage), no need to update console date/time.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:34): station 0 (Vantage), setup script executed.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:35): station 0 (Vantage), internal logger activated.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:35): station 0 (Vantage), syncing.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:36): station 1 (GW1000), Radio Frequency: 915 MHz
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:42): station 1 (GW1000), FW version: GW1000B_V1.7.5
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), gettime request sent.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), no Vantage time offset.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), eeprom request sent.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), rain collector size 0.01 inch per tick.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), transmitter 1 active as station type #5 "Rain".
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), firmware version request sent.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), firmware version 2.14 (supports LOOP2)
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:45): station 0 (Vantage), no reading of Vantage's internal logger.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:49): sensors are now providing data.
logger (18.09.2022 06:14:49): services started.
system (19.09.2022 00:00:15): deletion of per minute data before 2021-09-18 scheduled.
database (19.09.2022 00:00:16): deletion of per minute data initiated (57 sensors).
database (19.09.2022 00:00:16): deletion of per minute data done for 57 sensors.
system (20.09.2022 00:00:33): deletion of per minute data before 2021-09-19 scheduled.
database (20.09.2022 00:00:33): deletion of per minute data initiated (57 sensors).
database (20.09.2022 00:00:34): deletion of per minute data done for 57 sensors.

Gaps exist for soil temp, soil moisture, and a T/RH gauge - I will setup remote access and email info.

Guy
grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

Credentials emailed.

Guy
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by admin »

Really? Can't remember.
grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

"Please send URL and password to "info(at)meteobridge.com" if you want me to have a look"

Yep - sent it yesterday. If for some reason you don't see it, let me know and I can resend.

Guy
grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

Beginning to wonder if its a graphing issue of some sort.

Graph data intervals were at 10 mins - when I regenerate a graph I see gaps in the data until I use a 1 hour interval. Then data displays just fine.
Also looking at the raw sensor data - for the sensors in question its not old data.

Guy
TonvG
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2022 7:29 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by TonvG »

Same problem here.

Some days ago I had with mapping added one sensor, that I didn't add before. However, it's data wasn't shown after 24 hours, so that was weird. Next I did a reboot after 7 days running, thinking that the mapping wasn't picked up and after that I had the same problems with the graphs. MB was updated to version 22 September now. When displaying in one minute interval or for example hour or day interval, everything was fine. But displaying for example min10 that went wrong. Strange enough the sensor that I added was the only one giving some data on time points that others didn't do.

See screen shots.
Schermafbeelding 2022-09-23 om 12.58.44.png
Schermafbeelding 2022-09-23 om 12.58.44.png (109.88 KiB) Viewed 91 times
Schermafbeelding 2022-09-23 om 12.59.17.png
Schermafbeelding 2022-09-23 om 12.59.17.png (61.42 KiB) Viewed 91 times
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by admin »

grwkak wrote: Fri Sep 23, 2022 2:20 am "Please send URL and password to "info(at)meteobridge.com" if you want me to have a look"

Yep - sent it yesterday. If for some reason you don't see it, let me know and I can resend.

Guy
sorry does not reach me. Can you please try PM via this forum? That should work anyway.
User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 7024
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by admin »

TonvG wrote: Fri Sep 23, 2022 1:14 pm When displaying in one minute interval or for example hour or day interval, everything was fine. But displaying for example min10 that went wrong.
Are you storing data persistently on per-minute intervals? This needs to be switched on at "system - Administration" tab. Otherwise sub-hour data is just kept in RAM and there variants of per-minute resolution might not work.
If persistent per-minute storage is enabled and 1min works but 10mins does not, then something is wrong. It would help to inspect that on your system. Please mail URL to "info(at)meteobridge.com"
grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

Yep, per-minute storage is enabled.

I will try to email (using another address) the credentials. Can't see the PM function - but know its there having used it in the past.

Guy
User avatar
Gyvate
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 4:36 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by Gyvate »

grwkak wrote: Fri Sep 23, 2022 3:30 pm Yep, per-minute storage is enabled.
I will try to email (using another address) the credentials. Can't see the PM function - but know its there having used it in the past.
Guy
you don't need a PM function in the forum software - just read what @admin wrote:
send it with an email to info(at)meteobridge.com or info@meteobridge.com ( (at)=@ ) 8)
WH4000SE 1.6.4/1 x DP1500/4 x GW1000 1.7.5/GW1100 2.1.4/HP1000SE Pro 1.8.5/2 x WH2650 1.7.5/GW2000 2.1.9
2xMeteobridge Pro [B+R] 14816, RPi4B-2GB/16 release 2850
Ecowitt 5763, 5764; WU ISAARB3; ISAARB22; Weathercloud 3011399141; http://meshka.eu
grwkak
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by grwkak »

@admin - did you see my email this time?

Guy
TonvG
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2022 7:29 pm

Re: Gaps in chart data with Ecowitt sensors

Post by TonvG »

I see there has been a reboot yesterday evening and an update to the version of September 24th. In my case the problem is gone. Normal graphs again, for min1, min5, min10, etc.

Related questions maybe. In my case only mapped data are stored in a per-minute database.

Data that isn't mapped, how long is that stored in minute interval?

And once no longer stored in per-minute database. What is stored? Hourly timepoints? Or hourly averages with min/max values?

Ton
Post Reply