TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Andyk1 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:35 am

Hello!!!

Can anyone tell me if the hardware on the TL-WR902AC is that same as this MR-3020v3? I know the ram and rom are the same just curious if there's any other differences that anyone knows of as to which is better to have as a spare.
Image

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5348
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:18 am

They are of course NOT the same as they have different SOCs and the WR902AC operates in 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz WiFi band while MR3020 is just doing 2.4 GHz. Therefore, firmware images are also different.

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Andyk1 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:22 am

admin wrote:
Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:18 am
They are of course NOT the same as they have different SOCs and the WR902AC operates in 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz WiFi band while MR3020 is just doing 2.4 GHz. Therefore, firmware images are also different.
Thank you Sir!!!

Your best guess... which would you prefer?
Image

User avatar
Hodji
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:25 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Hodji » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:26 pm

It would be good to add in the guide that the router are only listening on the IP address 192.168.0.225 when trying to get in the new firmware.
I was trying with everything to get the new firmware on my unit i´ve got. And i did it from windows with i believe tftpd64 program.
I´ve used sooo many programs that day with no results but when i changed my tcp/ip connection to 192.168.0.255 i finally got the results i been trying for after about 14hours of try and fail. Just telling!

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5348
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:03 am

Hodji wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:26 pm
It would be good to add in the guide that the router are only listening on the IP address 192.168.0.225 when trying to get in the new firmware.
I was trying with everything to get the new firmware on my unit i´ve got. And i did it from windows with i believe tftpd64 program.
I´ve used sooo many programs that day with no results but when i changed my tcp/ip connection to 192.168.0.255 i finally got the results i been trying for after about 14hours of try and fail. Just telling!
Sorry it explains exactly that in the wiki. Please see below:


Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 01.00.30.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 01.00.30.png (113.14 KiB) Viewed 75 times

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Andyk1 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:34 am

Does anyone know where I can get a version 3 as my AC902 is on it's last leg (Dog knocked it off the table I had it on and micro USB port barely working) Amazon.com cannot confirm the one I order is a version 3 or a 1.
Image

User avatar
Hodji
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:25 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Hodji » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:39 pm

admin wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:03 am
Hodji wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:26 pm
It would be good to add in the guide that the router are only listening on the IP address 192.168.0.225 when trying to get in the new firmware.
I was trying with everything to get the new firmware on my unit i´ve got. And i did it from windows with i believe tftpd64 program.
I´ve used sooo many programs that day with no results but when i changed my tcp/ip connection to 192.168.0.255 i finally got the results i been trying for after about 14hours of try and fail. Just telling!
Sorry it explains exactly that in the wiki. Please see below:


Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 01.00.30.png
I know that, i am more about to highlight that you need to hard-code that IP to the network adapter. Because i am not using Linux i didn´t know
i that i needed to use that specified IP address. I am more of an windows user and i didn´t manage to get it working with Linux. I tried and fail and looked at other alternatives to make it possible.

Post Reply