TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

All about the standard Meteobridge devices based on mobile routers from TP-Link, D-Link, ASUS

Moderator: Mattk

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Andyk1 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:35 am

Hello!!!

Can anyone tell me if the hardware on the TL-WR902AC is that same as this MR-3020v3? I know the ram and rom are the same just curious if there's any other differences that anyone knows of as to which is better to have as a spare.
Image

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5881
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:18 am

They are of course NOT the same as they have different SOCs and the WR902AC operates in 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz WiFi band while MR3020 is just doing 2.4 GHz. Therefore, firmware images are also different.

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Andyk1 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:22 am

admin wrote:
Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:18 am
They are of course NOT the same as they have different SOCs and the WR902AC operates in 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz WiFi band while MR3020 is just doing 2.4 GHz. Therefore, firmware images are also different.
Thank you Sir!!!

Your best guess... which would you prefer?
Image

User avatar
Hodji
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:25 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Hodji » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:26 pm

It would be good to add in the guide that the router are only listening on the IP address 192.168.0.225 when trying to get in the new firmware.
I was trying with everything to get the new firmware on my unit i´ve got. And i did it from windows with i believe tftpd64 program.
I´ve used sooo many programs that day with no results but when i changed my tcp/ip connection to 192.168.0.255 i finally got the results i been trying for after about 14hours of try and fail. Just telling!

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5881
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:03 am

Hodji wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:26 pm
It would be good to add in the guide that the router are only listening on the IP address 192.168.0.225 when trying to get in the new firmware.
I was trying with everything to get the new firmware on my unit i´ve got. And i did it from windows with i believe tftpd64 program.
I´ve used sooo many programs that day with no results but when i changed my tcp/ip connection to 192.168.0.255 i finally got the results i been trying for after about 14hours of try and fail. Just telling!
Sorry it explains exactly that in the wiki. Please see below:


Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 01.00.30.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 01.00.30.png (113.14 KiB) Viewed 1820 times

Andyk1
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:14 am
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Andyk1 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:34 am

Does anyone know where I can get a version 3 as my AC902 is on it's last leg (Dog knocked it off the table I had it on and micro USB port barely working) Amazon.com cannot confirm the one I order is a version 3 or a 1.
Image

User avatar
Hodji
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:25 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Hodji » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:39 pm

admin wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:03 am
Hodji wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:26 pm
It would be good to add in the guide that the router are only listening on the IP address 192.168.0.225 when trying to get in the new firmware.
I was trying with everything to get the new firmware on my unit i´ve got. And i did it from windows with i believe tftpd64 program.
I´ve used sooo many programs that day with no results but when i changed my tcp/ip connection to 192.168.0.255 i finally got the results i been trying for after about 14hours of try and fail. Just telling!
Sorry it explains exactly that in the wiki. Please see below:


Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 01.00.30.png
I know that, i am more about to highlight that you need to hard-code that IP to the network adapter. Because i am not using Linux i didn´t know
i that i needed to use that specified IP address. I am more of an windows user and i didn´t manage to get it working with Linux. I tried and fail and looked at other alternatives to make it possible.

User avatar
Wessel
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 1:14 am

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Wessel » Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:02 pm

I have 5 MB TP-Link TL-MR3020 V3 working fine, but 2 of them I can't reboot. One has 157 days and other 115 days working without reboot. When I press reboot button, everything works as it would reboot, but nothing happen. I already tried to turn it off, wait some minutes, turn on again, but without success. Both are with Meteobridge 3.9. Is there another way to update MB version? Or how can I reboot? This 2 MB are working, the only thing is that I can't reboot and update MB version.

ullises
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:22 am

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ullises » Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:34 pm

hi , using VM virtual box for flashing tp-link 3020 v3
stuck on step 6 - (Virtual machine will start and lots of log messages will scroll through a black terminal window. Just ignore and wait until screen holds and shows flashing dialog.)
Instead i get this ...(attachment)
Any help much apreciated...
thanks

Image

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5881
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by admin » Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:31 pm

Wessel wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:02 pm
I have 5 MB TP-Link TL-MR3020 V3 working fine, but 2 of them I can't reboot. One has 157 days and other 115 days working without reboot. When I press reboot button, everything works as it would reboot, but nothing happen. I already tried to turn it off, wait some minutes, turn on again, but without success. Both are with Meteobridge 3.9. Is there another way to update MB version? Or how can I reboot? This 2 MB are working, the only thing is that I can't reboot and update MB version.
I am not aware that MBs are stuck to 3.9 unless the two years have passed and you are out of update service.
3.8 sometimes gets stuck, you can find details here: viewtopic.php?f=57&t=14221

ullises
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:22 am

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ullises » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:07 am

So , i go step by step from another pc in another location now with the same result....what do i do wrong ?
windows10 , at step6 stuck...
go to ethernet ....tcp.ip4 manual at 192.168.0.225
very important ...go to settings in Virtual Box and select the version of operating sistem (windows 10/64-bit in my case)
All fine now....
Attachments
aaaaaa2.png
aaaaaa2.png (82.1 KiB) Viewed 106 times
aaaaaa.jpg
aaaaaa.jpg (74.73 KiB) Viewed 106 times
aaaa3.png
aaaa3.png (89.83 KiB) Viewed 106 times

Karl139
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:25 pm
Location: Knivsta, Sweden

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Karl139 » Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:50 pm

ullises wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:34 pm
hi , using VM virtual box for flashing tp-link 3020 v3
stuck on step 6 - (Virtual machine will start and lots of log messages will scroll through a black terminal window. Just ignore and wait until screen holds and shows flashing dialog.)
Instead i get this ...(attachment)
Any help much apreciated...
thanks

Image
I have exactly the same problem, get stucked when I try to start the virtual server. Trying to change the "Networks settings", but only gets "Invalid Settings detected", what ever settings I use.

Using Windows 10, A new TL-MR3020 ver. 3.20

Any help appreciated. / Johan

Image
VirtualBoxError2.PNG
VirtualBoxError2.PNG (49.33 KiB) Viewed 70 times
Attachments
VirtualBoxError.PNG
VirtualBoxError.PNG (23.29 KiB) Viewed 70 times

ullises
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:22 am

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by ullises » Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:42 pm

go to ethernet ....tcp.ip4 manual at 192.168.0.225
very important ...go to settings in Virtual Box and select the version of operating sistem (windows 10/64-bit in my case)
All fine now....

gand
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:40 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by gand » Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:16 pm

Hi '

I'm a Windows 10 user and did the flashing in a different way. It took less and 5 minutes.

Download tftpd64 from https://bitbucket.org/phjounin/tftpd64/ ... -setup.exe
Install tftpd64
Create folder root in C:\Program Files\Tftpd64\
Download meteobridge-tl-mr3020v3-v1.3.bin from http://connect.meteobridge.com/files/me ... 3-v1.3.bin
Rename to meteobridge-tl-mr3020v3-v1.3.bin to tp_recovery.bin
Copy tp_recovery.bin to C:\Program Files\Tftpd64\root
Connect pc and modem with an ethernetcable
Set PC IP to 192.168.0.225
Configure ftpd64 (se pictures)
Press the reset button on the top of the MR3020 and keep it pressed.
Connect the MR3020 to power while you keep the reset button pressed
Release the button when the transfer is done
Find the new IP address of the modem and connect via a browser
Configure the net using the Meteobridge Guide for MR3020

Rgds
Gert
Attachments
tftp.png
tftp.png (75.84 KiB) Viewed 33 times
Global.png
Global.png (27.52 KiB) Viewed 33 times

Karl139
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:25 pm
Location: Knivsta, Sweden

Re: TP-Link TL-MR3020 Version 3 now supported (with WiFi)

Post by Karl139 » Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:38 am

Thanks Gert!

You are my hero! Now, that was much faster and easier! Everyting is ok now.

BR Johan

Post Reply