Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data **solved**

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
GizmoEV
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:42 am
Location: Kelso, WA USA

Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data **solved**

Post by GizmoEV » Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:39 am

Since I posted in the wrong section I'm continuing here from viewtopic.php?p=26086#p26086

To summarize, I just received a used Mateobridge Pro and have it setup but it isn't seeing any of the Weatherflow hubs' data.

I have all devices (access points, WF hubs, and MB pro) on the same side of my cable modem all on a 10.0.0.x subnet. I removed the Weather Nets entry as I don't have one at this time.

Maybe the issue is that I have two Weatherflow hubs?
David D. Nelson

GizmoEV
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:42 am
Location: Kelso, WA USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by GizmoEV » Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:52 am

I unplugged one of my Weatherflow hubs so only one is online and rebooted the MB pro and still get not Weatherflow data showing up on the live data tab.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: I just discovered another user with the same issue who's post didn't show up when I did a search. That thread is at viewtopic.php?f=24&t=13123
David D. Nelson

GizmoEV
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:42 am
Location: Kelso, WA USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by GizmoEV » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:10 am

I looked at the system messages and this is what it is showing:

Code: Select all

logger (10.10.2018 18:27:05): give up waiting for sensors after 120 secs.
logger (10.10.2018 18:27:05): services activated.
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:35): child process received timeout signal (14).
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:35): disconnect station 0 (Weatherflow): exit
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:35): disconnect station 9 (System Data): exit
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:36): data logger stopped.
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:36): databases disconnected.
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:36): databases connected. Update interval 3600 seconds.
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:36): data logger (version 5.1, build 12383) started.
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:37): connect station 0 (Weatherflow via USB HID).
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:37): connect station 9 (System Data via Plug-in).
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:40): waiting for sensors (wind0, rain0, th0, thb0) to provide data.
logger (10.10.2018 18:35:40): services paused.
logger (10.10.2018 18:37:37): give up waiting for sensors after 120 secs.
logger (10.10.2018 18:37:37): services activated.
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:07): child process received timeout signal (14).
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:07): disconnect station 0 (Weatherflow): exit
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:07): disconnect station 9 (System Data): exit
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): data logger stopped.
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): databases disconnected.
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): databases connected. Update interval 3600 seconds.
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): data logger (version 5.1, build 12383) started.
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): connect station 0 (Weatherflow via USB HID).
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): connect station 9 (System Data via Plug-in).
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:12): waiting for sensors (wind0, rain0, th0, thb0) to provide data.
logger (10.10.2018 18:46:12): services paused.
logger (10.10.2018 18:48:09): give up waiting for sensors after 120 secs.
logger (10.10.2018 18:48:09): services activated.
What does "logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): connect station 0 (Weatherflow via USB HID)." really mean? I understood that the MB didn't require the Weatherflow hub to be plugged into the USB port. Is that what it is expecting?
David D. Nelson

User avatar
wvdkuil
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by wvdkuil » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:25 am

These are my messages from "normal" MB and a working WeatherFlow

Code: Select all

wnetd (07.10.2018 06:16:39): process started.
system (07.10.2018 06:16:39): start of logging process initiated.
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:39): historical data loaded (27 records).
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:39): data logger (version 5.1, build 12373) started.
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:40): connect station 0 (Weatherflow via USB HID).
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:41): SKY sensor SK-00002355 already registered (wind0/rain0/uv0/sol0).
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:41): AIR sensor AR-00009834 already registered (thb0/th0/lgt0).
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:43): sensors are now providing data.
logger (07.10.2018 06:16:43): services started.
What does "logger (10.10.2018 18:46:08): connect station 0 (Weatherflow via USB HID)." really mean?
The message about USB is "confusing" as it seems all special purpose drivers are build on top of the USB driver. If so, Boris (the MB author) could better change that to "connect station 0 (Weatherflow via generic driver)"
As you can see in my system messages the SKY and AIR station are found immediately.
The UDP messages are very frequent sent out by the hub, so your hub transmitting the sensor messages should be found very quickly also.

But the MB does not see the WeatherFlow UDP packets, this "indicates" that MB and WF are not using the same sub-net.
I understood that the MB didn't require the Weatherflow hub to be plugged into the USB port. Is that what it is expecting?
Plugging in the USB port has no sense as it only would be used to power the Hub, there is AFAIK no communication with the hub possible using USB.

Questions:
Is the MB-pro updated to the lates MB-release (3.7)?
Is the hub uploading data? So is the green led lit?
Is your Weatherflow visible on https://smartweather.weatherflow.com/station/nnnnn/list or https://smartweather.weatherflow.com/share/nnnn/grid
You still use 1 Weatherflow hub only on your LAN, so the other hub is powered off?
Did you try to use the other WF or are you always testing with the same one?
Is your MB a black Pro or a Red one?
Is your WF-hub and the MB connected to the same WiFi access-point?
What are the IP addresses of both the MB and the Weatherflow?
Are you using DHCP on the MB-pro or did you set a fixed IP?
Do you have a network scan utility on your PC and are both the MB and the WF visible at the same time to the scanner?
Can you post a screenshot of the WeatherStation tab of your MB?
And a screenshot of the Network tab?

A lot of questions but I hope the answers will lead us to the reason the MB and the WF-hub do not "want to see" each other.

Wim

GizmoEV
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:42 am
Location: Kelso, WA USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by GizmoEV » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:32 am

wvdkuil wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:25 am
But the MB does not see the WeatherFlow UDP packets, this "indicates" that MB and WF are not using the same sub-net.
That is what I thought so I double checked that I didn't have two subnets. I don't. All are using the DHCP of my cable modem and all on 10.0.0.0/24. I have a Netgear Gateway C7000-100NAS cable modem. I have two Aruba 215 instant access points on their own ethernet port on the cable modem and the rest of my wired network on another port. The Arubas are setup so devices can freely go between them as needed. I can even make a WiFi call with my cell phone and it will switch between access points without dropping the call.
Questions:
Is the MB-pro updated to the lates MB-release (3.7)?
SW Version: Meteobridge 3.7 (Oct 7 2018, build 12383), FW 1.4
I don't know what it had when I received it, probably an earlier version since it was shipped on October 4 or 5, but it updated right away because it had 3.7 when I first checked.
Is the hub uploading data? So is the green led lit?
The WF hubs are uploading data and haven't given any trouble other than a couple of weeks ago when they stopped receiving sensor data and had the BLE light on. They each had to be power cycled to recover. This happened at different times for each hub.
Yes, they are at https://smartweather.weatherflow.com/share/5075 and https://smartweather.weatherflow.com/share/5080 I figured I'd use the MB-pro on the second one (5080) my mobile unit since sometimes I camp where there is no network or cellular coverage and I'd like to see the weather history while I'm there. Once I get the MB-pro working I could then decide if I want to make a go of using my Qnap NAS for data storage from my home station.
You still use 1 Weatherflow hub only on your LAN, so the other hub is powered off?
Did you try to use the other WF or are you always testing with the same one?
I have two hubs and I had just unplugged one to see if the MB was getting confused with two sets of data on the network. After reading your message I tried unplugging the other hub and rebooted the MB and it still didn't see the WF.
Is your MB a black Pro or a Red one?
This is the Red one. On the Station tab I unchecked the "Use internal RF receiver" line since I don't have any sensors which it could use.
Is your WF-hub and the MB connected to the same WiFi access-point?
I have tried it both ways. It doesn't matter what access point whether it be the same one different ones. I even unplugged an access point to make sure only one was active for testing.
What are the IP addresses of both the MB and the Weatherflow?
The MB is on 10.0.0.125 and the WF hubs are at 10.0.0.108 and 10.0.0.109.
Are you using DHCP on the MB-pro or did you set a fixed IP?
I'm using DHCP and have reserved the IPs for MB and the WF hubs.
Do you have a network scan utility on your PC and are both the MB and the WF visible at the same time to the scanner?
The Cable modem, access points, and Angry IP scanner see all devices on the same network at the same time.
Can you post a screenshot of the WeatherStation tab of your MB?
Image
And a screenshot of the Network tab?
Image
Image
A lot of questions but I hope the answers will lead us to the reason the MB and the WF-hub do not "want to see" each other.
I hope so. There is data on the MB from the previous owner so I know it has worked in the past though I don't know what weather station equipment they had. Since I don't have any of my own data on here I can always start over with a factory reset again.

Thank you,
David D. Nelson

User avatar
wvdkuil
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by wvdkuil » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:53 am

Before continuing you should do a full system-reset of the MB-Pro, just to be sure.
All other remarks/screenshots in your post looks OK.

If after a new MB setup the WF is not found, check why the MB does not see any of the UDP packets the WF should transmit.
You should install and use wireshark (or another network sniffer) to check yourself that the UDP packets are on your network.

Change your WLAN to a temporary test situation with only one WF and one Aruba access point active.
Restart the Meterobridge. Check to make sure that the MB does not see the WF.
Use your PC / Mac to run wireshark. If it is a busy network, use filter to only show UDP packets from the WF-IP address.

Three possible outcomes:
1. If there are UDP packets from WF visible, you should contact Boris, the author of Meteobridge to have a look inside your Meteobridge. You can set remote access at the system- tab of your MB. Explained here: viewtopic.php?f=57&t=9885
2. If only the WF UDP packets are missing, contact WF-support.
3. If there are no UDP packets for any device on your network, check the specifications of your Aruba access point.

Wim

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5480
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by admin » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:17 pm

I checked with my MB PRO and data comes in fine.

Code: Select all

logger (12.10.2018 21:12:40): data logger (version 5.1, build 12383) started.
logger (12.10.2018 21:12:41): connect station 0 (Weatherflow via USB HID).
logger (12.10.2018 21:12:41): connect station 9 (System Data via Plug-in).
logger (12.10.2018 21:12:44): waiting for sensors (wind0, rain0, th0, thb0) to provide data.
logger (12.10.2018 21:12:44): services paused.
logger (12.10.2018 21:13:17): AIR sensor AR-00004723 newly registered (thb0/th0).
Works when MB PRO is operating in LAN and WLAN. So there must be an issue with handling/blocking of UDP packets in your network or the Weatherflow equipment does not send UDP packets for an unknown reason.

GizmoEV
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:42 am
Location: Kelso, WA USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by GizmoEV » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:52 am

I installed wireshark on my Surface 3 and I only have seen UDP packets from or to its IP. I installed Wireshark on my desktop with a wired connection and I see UDP packets from several devices including both WF hubs. It looks like I need to first figure out how to convince Aruba Instant to rebroadcast UDP packets. I've looked around a few times and I don't see any references to UDP. Any suggestions on what else to look for in the settings?

I think I'll leave the MB-Pro as it is until I get the UDP packet issue resolved.

Thank you,
David D. Nelson

GizmoEV
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:42 am
Location: Kelso, WA USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro not seeing Weatherflow data

Post by GizmoEV » Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:35 am

wvdkuil wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:53 am
3. If there are no UDP packets for any device on your network, check the specifications of your Aruba access point.
admin wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:17 pm
So there must be an issue with handling/blocking of UDP packets in your network or the Weatherflow equipment does not send UDP packets for an unknown reason.
Found it! Image

Thank you both for your help. MB found both stations as soon as I saved the changes and actually paired the correct SKY and AIR units together! :D

Now for more adventure as I learn about this device. It will be interesting if I can pair the MB-pro and my Mobile WF hub either with the WiFi of the MB or the hotspot of my tablet for when I travel.
David D. Nelson

Post Reply