Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

Post Reply
JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by JohnsPro » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:11 pm

Hello all in the Group.
I am a newbie to the Meteobridge and just recently received my unit. I am testing my Vantage Pro 2 ISS with the Meteobridge Pro RED and the original console with USB to a PC. I have noticed that when I received temperatures below Zero that I get an error in the logs complaining that the temperature is out of range and seems to leave that data out of the graphs. The Console that is connected to USB has no concerns and reads the data properly. I am using software 3.9 Jan 6th but have recently rebooted and are now on the newest version.
Error_UnderZero.jpg
Error when temperature is below Zero
Error_UnderZero.jpg (73.78 KiB) Viewed 87 times
Graph_Loss.jpg
Missing data in graph
Graph_Loss.jpg (89.09 KiB) Viewed 87 times
From_Base.jpg
Data from console no missing data
From_Base.jpg (223.77 KiB) Viewed 87 times
The signal strength seems OK as I have a Yagi antenna and only ~80' to the ISS thru a window and block wall. I am going to move outside in the summer to bring the signal strength up.
Signal_th0.jpg
signal strength
Signal_th0.jpg (221.35 KiB) Viewed 87 times
Any assistance to resolve the concern would be appreciated.
Thank You John

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5563
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by admin » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:22 am

Which SW version are you running?

Seems to happen only on some (may be older) outdoor sensors which report temperature not in discrete 1/10 degrees but as analogue data to be converted by a non-linear function to correct temp values. I did a fix in the just released code that might solve the clipping issue.

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by JohnsPro » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:38 am

The software that you are referring to is on the Meteobridge correct.
SW_Ver.jpg
SW_Ver.jpg (45.87 KiB) Viewed 34 times
I can update if there is newer software.
Thank You John

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Mattk » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:51 am

How old is your VP2 and ISS sensor suite? And just to confirm how the MBPro is reading the sensors, direct from the ISS via RF, re-transmit from the VP2 via RF or USB connection to the VP2 logger?

Jan 13 release is one release old, Boris has put up a Jan 17 release today specific to reading Davis outdoor temp sensors so yes you should update to this latest release.

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Ag2000CO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:16 am

Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

User avatar
ConligWX
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by ConligWX » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:32 pm

looks like Boris has fixed it.

Version 3.9 released January 17, 2019
  • fixes a bug for outdoor temp sensors for some Davis Vantage2 units when using Meteobridge PRO or Meteostick for data reception.

Post Reply