Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F **solved**

This section covers the Meteobridge PRO units exclusively

Moderator: Mattk

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F **solved**

Post by JohnsPro » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:11 pm

Hello all in the Group.
I am a newbie to the Meteobridge and just recently received my unit. I am testing my Vantage Pro 2 ISS with the Meteobridge Pro RED and the original console with USB to a PC. I have noticed that when I received temperatures below Zero that I get an error in the logs complaining that the temperature is out of range and seems to leave that data out of the graphs. The Console that is connected to USB has no concerns and reads the data properly. I am using software 3.9 Jan 6th but have recently rebooted and are now on the newest version.
Error_UnderZero.jpg
Error when temperature is below Zero
Error_UnderZero.jpg (73.78 KiB) Viewed 501 times
Graph_Loss.jpg
Missing data in graph
Graph_Loss.jpg (89.09 KiB) Viewed 501 times
From_Base.jpg
Data from console no missing data
From_Base.jpg (223.77 KiB) Viewed 501 times
The signal strength seems OK as I have a Yagi antenna and only ~80' to the ISS thru a window and block wall. I am going to move outside in the summer to bring the signal strength up.
Signal_th0.jpg
signal strength
Signal_th0.jpg (221.35 KiB) Viewed 501 times
Any assistance to resolve the concern would be appreciated.
Thank You John

User avatar
admin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 5641
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by admin » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:22 am

Which SW version are you running?

Seems to happen only on some (may be older) outdoor sensors which report temperature not in discrete 1/10 degrees but as analogue data to be converted by a non-linear function to correct temp values. I did a fix in the just released code that might solve the clipping issue.

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by JohnsPro » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:38 am

The software that you are referring to is on the Meteobridge correct.
SW_Ver.jpg
SW_Ver.jpg (45.87 KiB) Viewed 448 times
I can update if there is newer software.
Thank You John

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Mattk » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:51 am

How old is your VP2 and ISS sensor suite? And just to confirm how the MBPro is reading the sensors, direct from the ISS via RF, re-transmit from the VP2 via RF or USB connection to the VP2 logger?

Jan 13 release is one release old, Boris has put up a Jan 17 release today specific to reading Davis outdoor temp sensors so yes you should update to this latest release.

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Ag2000CO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:16 am

Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

User avatar
ConligWX
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by ConligWX » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:32 pm

looks like Boris has fixed it.

Version 3.9 released January 17, 2019
  • fixes a bug for outdoor temp sensors for some Davis Vantage2 units when using Meteobridge PRO or Meteostick for data reception.

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Ag2000CO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:41 pm

Wish that was my experience. I have seen the problem of not reading temp below zero before and after upgrading to v3.9

With the current local "warm" winter it is tough to trouble shoot with only random cold snaps. I do not have a freezer big enough to hold and test my Davis PWS. ;)
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Mattk » Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:00 pm

Ag2000CO wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:41 pm
....I have seen the problem of not reading temp below zero before and after upgrading to v3.9 ....
If you have updated to the Jan 17 release then you are just going to have to wait :)

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Ag2000CO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:45 pm

Excuse me. Yes I will have to wait until the temperature drops below zero again. It was not obvious to me that 3.9 had been updated and reissued.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

Mattk
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:24 am

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Mattk » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:03 am

It's not that 3.9 was updated (as such) and re-issued as within each full version there can be a series of separate dated releases, which with some MB's can also be made sticky as they occur within a version. Within a version with get newest on boot you obviously get the latest release/version and can roll back to previous full version but not the interim releases within a version.

User avatar
ConligWX
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:48 pm
Location: Conlig, Co. Down, UK
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by ConligWX » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:13 am

there is different versions of 3.9 it is not reissued, it is a rolling 3.9 and some days there is a new feature or fix added. it is still 3.9 but has a different build date example: Meteobridge 3.9 (Jan 17 2019, build 1911)

I suggest you check here regularly : https://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/Forum

the release log shows the 3.9 has been updated numerous times. thats why I posted the 17th date which listed the fix.

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Ag2000CO » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:33 am

ConlinWX, Thanks for the link.

I did not realize the SW was that dynamic.
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

JohnsPro
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:19 pm
Location: Centeral New York USA

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by JohnsPro » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:58 am

MattK,
The VP2 and ISS sensor suite that I have was purchased July 2017.
My MBPro is reading the sensors, direct from the ISS via RF. The antenna is a Yagi beam that has 5 elements and a short cable to the MBPro which is about 80 feet away from the ISS. I also have a console that uses USB to talk to a PC that will be retired once I have confidence in using the MBPro.
I updated to the Version 3.9 released January 17, 2019
I think I will wait for more cold weather and see how the unit performs I know that over the weekend the weather prediction is between 12" and 20" of snow but we might have below zero temperatures between Sunday to Tuesday.
Thank you John

User avatar
Ag2000CO
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: CO, USA
Contact:

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by Ag2000CO » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:03 pm

We had temperatures below 0°F last night. Additional firmware work is needed.
JohnsPro, not wanting to hijack your thread, I have posted screen shots on the thread I started viewtopic.php?f=61&t=13483
Lou
Say what you will about Sisyphus. He always has work.

scarecrow93
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:06 pm

Re: Meteobridge Pro RED no seeing temps below 0F

Post by scarecrow93 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:09 pm

Just confirmed this issue still exists.

We went below 0F last night and I got the same error everyone else has received. I rebooted the Meteobridge Pro Red to pull the latest firmware and am still getting the errors.

Post Reply